We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EDINBURGHS FINEST”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ben Cruachan Guest House
Ranked #7 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EDINBURGHS FINEST”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Wonderful hospitality at Bencruachan. The little extras in the room are lovely,We have now stayed in every room that Carole has. Absolutely Fantastic Breakfast. and plenty of it. This excellent accommodation with superb facilities for guests, is like home from home, we keep returning it gets better all the time.keep up the good work Carole best wishes Maggie and John

Room Tip: All very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DumfriesukMaggie_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    38
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
83
465
57
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Doing my research on accommodation in Edinburgh i discovered Ben Cruachan Guest House with its prestigious Gold award for outstanding quality and srevice. You can see why as soon as you enter the front door you are made so welcome by the owner Carole. We arrived very early 8.30am shown into the lounge with a tray of tea toast and preserves as our room wasn't ready, Carole gave us use of a bathroom to freshen up, such a nice touch. Our room was beside the garden with a wonderful en-suite. We enjoyed the luxury of sherry , sweets, toiletries, flat screen tv and wifi also fabulous information on Edinburgh the best comfortable bed better than our own. The breakfast was out of this world i have never seen anything like it in a b&b before,porridge with a good malt followed by a full cooked of eggs bacon sausages black pudding tomatoe mushrooms and haggis. The quality of the breakfast was amazing proper butchers sausages thick gammon oh! and 2 eggs without asking all perfectly cooked.
2nd morning i Had an exotic fruit plate with greek yogurt walnuts and honey, my husband had eggs benedict the best he has tasted. The dining room is beautiful with white linen crystal glasses and fresh flowers the house is immaculately clean with great attention to detail.
You are totally spoilt, we thoroughly enjoyed our time here and will certainly return.

Thanks.
Jan & Hugh.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We have had a wonderful 3 days experience thanks to Trip Advisor, staying at the Great Ben Cruachan. The comments are very correct from all the travellers. Beautiful house very good room so clean good taste. The hosts are friendly and nice, the breakfast was a very high standard good for us with hot milk. The price was also good for us. We hope many people come and stay at this good place it was very charming.

Seve.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Two nights at the beginning of a Scotland tour and one at the end - son-in-law of the owner standing in and all done beautifully. Small rooms, but clean, well-decorated and very comfortable, with good beds and a very helpful attitude - the last morning, we were served breakfast more than an hour early before a trip to the airport. The locations is outstanding - you are right in the middle of all new and old town attractions, 20 minutes walk. We would always use this as our base here.

Room Tip: Try for room facing the garden - quiet and restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ketreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katakolon greece
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We thankyou for our good time in your good B&B very excellent breakfast our very nice room. mrs carol very helpful to us while in edinburgh beautiful house very clean we would like to return someday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eva m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

You could not find two more welcoming people than Carole and George. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted as true guests. They
made their house feel like home and Carole is your douting Aunt. The room is clean and with plenty of space. The bed is so comfortable that the only reason you leave it is because you can't wait for the breakfast. Definitely try the porridge. The breakfasts are truly wonderful. It was the best bacon my wife ever had. Do not stay anywhere else in Edinburgh.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Previously stayed with Carole and George in 2009 and posted a more through review. Just wanted to add that excellent facilities and hospitality have not changed a bit! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TENEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Broughton & Calton
14 Hart Street
14 Hart Street
#1 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Cruachan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Cruachan Guest House

Property: Ben Cruachan Guest House
Address: 17 McDonald Road, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland (Formerly Ben Cruachan)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ben Cruachan Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Ben Cruachan Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing