We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing burgers!”
Review of The Cambridge Bar

The Cambridge Bar
Ranked #86 of 2,458 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: New Town
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing burgers!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

What a place, and what a hidden Scottish gem! We went for Saturday lunch on the recommendation of a friend, and managed to get a seat near the window on one of the very comfortable sofas. The highlights of the NZ vs England game were put on the big screen at our request, but this didn't feel intrusive at all, as they sometimes can be. The other half of the bar was TV-less, and so there was a good choice of atmosphere and environment. The beer selection was excellent, although the Rose wine tasted as if it had been open a while, and could have done with refreshing. The service was attentive yet not overbearing, with all members of staff willing to have a chat and a bit of light hearted banter.

We ordered the BBQ Bacon Buffalo burger and an Italian burger, and they were awesome. The buffalo was juicy, and the bbq sauce and bacon was definitely not scrimped on.

The burgers were so good I didn't even focus on the fact that my trousers had slipped and my bum crack was showing. Priorities, priorities.

In short, get there now and make love to the first burger you come across.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edhewings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    149
    18
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watsonville, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent burgers, good service”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

After reading several reviews, we decided to try their hamburgers. Good, but not great - mostly because they can't cook to order, so the meat patty comes out medium-well at best, and just not as juicy as a burger should be. My wife and I are both from beef country in the western U.S., so we do have somewhat high standards for burgers and meat. Excellent ingredients, very good service, good beer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers and drinks!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This place is a nice little gem in Edinburgh. It's hidden away on a backstreet and despite hearing great things about it, I never visited it until this year. True to everything that I heard the burgers are excellent and there is a great selection. Being an American in Scotland, good burgers are usually hard to come by, but not at this place. On the most recent visit I had a Teriyaki Chicken Burger with Swiss cheese. It was epic. They didn't scrimp on the Teriyaki sauce and everything was perfectly cooked. The other people in the group had a Blue Cheese Burger, Lamb Burger and Fajita Burger and everyone enjoyed what they got! The selection of beers, wines and spirits There are always Scottish beers on draught and even more variety by the bottle.

The service is laid back and friendly, as is the general atmosphere of the place. They have a TV for sports, but it's never been too loud or overwhelming when I have been in. It might be worth booking a table if you have a large party or it's a weekend. We went on a Tuesday and it was full!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilac3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“excellent drinking hole”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

visited with friends on Saturday the 24th of may 2014, haven't been for a couple of years, but its not changed still an excellent pub, although i have not eaten there before i believe its also very good and i will probably do so in the future, staff very polite and efficient, would recommend a visit to anyone

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent food and drink down a nice Edinburgh side-street”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The place is pleasingly uncomplicated, although I can't quite work out what it's trying to be: a weekend haunt for young professionals seems the most likely. The food is simple, US grill-type food (burgers); crowd-pleasing, tasty, and affordable. Nevertheless, some of the previous reviews make this sound a tad better than it is. The range of lagers and ales is excellent, although the cider they stored was basically apple juice mixed with ethanol. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well.

The interior and atmosphere is pleasant, and can imagine the atmosphere would be very lively, although we visited on a Sunday evening, so always difficult to judge a place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexOL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cambridge Bar also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Cambridge Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing