We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely historic apartment in central location”
other travellers have booked this property
The Apartment and West Bow seen from Victoria Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Apartment and West Bow seen from Victoria Terrace
The Midbow Apartment from West Bow. The apartment is on the first floor. The Bedroom with Superking four-poster and solid teak furniture. looking onto Victoria Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Apartment and West Bow seen from Victoria Terrace
The Midbow Apartment from West Bow. The apartment is on the first floor.
The Bedroom with Superking four-poster and solid teak furniture. looking onto Victoria Street
The Bedroom showing Liberty teak dressing table,  and original watercolour by Rosie Scott.
The solid teak Superking four-poster. The cushion shows the West Bow by The Edinburgh Sketcher
Living Room, showing the desk converted from a Georgian piano - it's full of secret compartments!
Living Room, showing the Clie Doc XL sofa that converts into a full size bunk bed!
Kitchen with oven and gas hob, washing machine, tumble dryer, microwave and toaster.
Hallway with vintage hall runner. Coming soon - a 13ft Canvas print of the entire Royal Mile
Shower Room showing walk-in Shower with overhead and hand-held shower heads, and solid teak slipmat!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
DrMB_79
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely historic apartment in central location”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our week stay in this beautiful historic apartment. The apartment was well equipped with everything needed for a home away from home (with a little bit more character ;-). Jon and Antonia were very accomodating and the booking, check in and out process was seamless. We loved watching the bustling street life from the windows. A couple of the nights were a little noisy until about 1am but the wooden shutters helped to dampen this and the majority of the weeknights were quiet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pioneer70...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment and amazing location.”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Jon and Antonia's apartment is so welcoming and comfortable with wonderful, quirky touches. The location is unbeatable. Edinburgh is such a beautiful city and the apartment's location allows you to walk to all the amazing sights with ease. We had no trouble finding our way around and were gobsmacked at the history and culture everywhere you looked. There was some noise at night from the busy street below but nothing too bad especially once the amazing wooden shutters were closed. The apartment has everything you could possibly need and we stayed for seven nights. This was our first experience with an overseas apartment and it set the bar extremely high.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poggio-Im...
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staying in the heart of Edinburgh!”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The Midbow was a perfect location for us.Just in the heart of Edinburgh, with all the attractions around, all kind of shops,at least three supermarkets nearby, bus and tram stop from/to the airport within a 5 minutes walking.
What we loved of Midbow was not only the location, but also the interior design and the atmospehere: unique piece of furniture and paintings. Every single piece from table mates to paintings, looked chosen and not just casual. And you did feel to be in Edinburgh and not in somewhere else place in the world. The assistance for the chek-in/check-out and all the necessary information on the home appliances has been excellent, as the cleaning.
We do hope to come back to Midbow next time we stop in Edinburgh.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billie-Ma...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic old world apartment in a central location”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic apartment in a great location. A proper old town residence with beautiful teak furniture and a fully equipped kitchen. It worked well as a family base for a long weekend and we would definitely go back. On the flip side the central location did mean it was a bit noisy at night. For anyone visiting it I would highly recommend the patisserie across the street for coffee and pastries - it was divine for breakfast each morning!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Dear Liz,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the stay and the apartment. Totally agree that the patisserie is amazing and starts off the day perfectly! I think Petit Paris on the Grassmarket is linked to it - both run by super friendly french people and definitely worth a visit on your next visit. Have a wonderful summer and we hope that you visit Edinburgh again.
Warmest regards,
Antonia and Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bookworm1...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent position and place!”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is a superb apartment with a fab kitchen and bathroom! The bed is very comfy. The apartment is perfectly placed giving easy access to the Royal Mile for shopping as well as buses and also the Castle. Sainsbury supermarket is a 5 min walk too for your supplies. You will love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
Thank you for your wonderfully positive review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope we can welcome you back in the future. Warmest regards, Antonia and Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
734Jane
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment is well equipped, spacious, very comfortable and well located in the historic Grass-market area close to the castle. Most of the sites we wanted to see were within walking distance but there is a bus stop nearby where the Hop-on Hop-Off bus also stops. We were able to access the apartment early after arriving on an early flight. There were items such as milk, butter, cheese, plenty of tea, coffee, sugar and many other small necessities waiting for us which we appreciated very much. It was great to have a washing machine too. I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a comfortable apartment to come home to each day.
Liked least: Occasional street noise at night and fairly steep stairs to the apartment.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review - we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am pleased that you appreciated the milk and butter although I should say they were only there as I had just been staying at the flat and was able to leave them for you. Normally we are not in Edinburgh and so the lat is cleaned and presented beautifully by our property manager Ashley and consumables need to be purchased from the convenience store in the Grassmarket, 2 minutes away.
We would love to welcome you back on your next visit to this gorgeous city.
Warmest regards,
Antonia and Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing