We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great venue for groups”

Review of Harvieston Hall

Harvieston Hall Holiday Home Edinburgh
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Harvieston Hall Holiday Home Edinburgh
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Harvieston Hall Holiday Home Edinburgh
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
13 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gordon M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great venue for groups”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Hired out for a reunion of friends and was extremely impressed. Plenty of space for our group of 18, with rooms to spare. Communal areas perfect for chatting in the kitchen, sitting by the log fire or dining in the large dining table. Set in a stunning location, impressive driveway and grounds to explore. Met by the host and was very helpful, with advice about how to get the best out of our weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Thank you for your kind words - they mean so much to us! We love friends and reunion weekends! Till next time...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittChr
Leland, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect House for your Scotland Adventures.”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We booked Harvieston Hall as our Home Base during a trip for 16 of us to celebrate my 40th birthday. The house was in a perfect location as we had ventured out for sightseeing and golf during a 10 day stay.

The house is beautiful, huge, and had plenty of room for everyone to gather for meals, recapping our day, or just to put your feet up with a scotch and cigar. Armor was very responsive, checked on us daily, and was perfectly present and invisible.

The home was very close to public transportation (walking distance) which are non-golfers could use to explore Edinburgh and beyond. The grounds were serene and peaceful yet the location was close enough to the city where we were not out in the middle of nowhere.

Check out The Sun Inn for a perfect dinner out and I highly recommend Delilicious Catering to provide breakfast and dinners for your group.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Thank you for your review - so, so pleased you had such a great time. We're cannot recommend the Sun-inn enough and our award winning caterers - yum! Of course golf is a must for the gentleman set followed by a warming whiskey. And your group was very tidy! Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidwrob...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic venue, great host and perfect for a gathering of friends!!”
Reviewed 23 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have just been lucky enough to spend a fantastic weekend at Harvieston Hall. A perfect venue for a group of 20 friends, male and female (all mid 20's).

From booking to departure the service we received was great, in particular from Arnie who greeted us to show us round, how everything worked and generally get us settled in. Available throughout the weekend by phone or text for any questions or issues. Even when late on the first night we realised we had no hot water there was a chap on the door within the hour to say there was an issue with the boiler which was now fixed and we were good to go!

There is endless dining and seating space and the table was set beautifully, all as you can see from the pictures. Plenty of fridge and cooking space available and a really good mix of bedroom and bathroom space for couples or for groups to share if need be. It was a very cold weekend, however there was at least 1 electric heater in all of the bedrooms and a supply of firewood to make sure the place was warm enough. The hot tub as an added extra is a must!

A super weekend all round, genuinely made better by the service and kindness of the owners team, and we are already talking about booking again next year! Would have absolutely no hesitation recommending to others!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2016
David, thank you for your very kind words, the team at Harvieston work so hard to make sure all events go perfectly and we really appreciate you taking the time to write the review. Plus it always helps to have fab guests!! till next time...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I booked Harvieston for my hen do and WOW.... What a weekend! There were 25 of us of varying ages and everyone left with the biggest smiles on their face, promising to return in the near future. We had everything we needed and were extremely comfortable. The house was lovely and warm with added bonus of a log fire and electric heaters in all the rooms. The hot tub was a major hit and was a lovely way to relax at the end of the day. I loved hearing some of the history behind the house when we checked in and this added to the excitement over the weekend. I would not hesitate to book this property again, and I'm looking forward to seeing all the refurbishments once complete! Thanks for everything!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Hi Sarah, thank you for your fab review! The team try so hard to make everyone's stay perfect so I'm pleased you had such a great time. We're looking forward to the new banqueting suite being completed in the near future too! Thanks once again for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T
Rosewell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning features,amazing rooms and very welcoming!”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Beautiful finished house! Massive rooms,dinning hall and lounge with a log fire. Such amazing original features which have been restored which just sets every room off to a T! Fantastic venue for a weeding,hen/stag party or just a huge family get together!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Fab review, thank you so much for leaving it. And we're super pleased you had a great time staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattyhan...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
746 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
“Wow what a place!”
Reviewed 23 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Harvieston Hall is located only 20 mins from Edinburgh, this large and spacious building is beautiful and oozes charm, perfect for large groups or dinner parties due to its size and facilities available. We tried out the large hot tube and had great fun, bit shout out to Dave who made the whole visit magical.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
We're super pleased your group had such a great time with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C
Gourock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb! ”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Spent 2 nights at this amazing mansion for a large group of girls (20 people) and we loved every minute. Fabulous location and only 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre. The house itself is perfect for entertaining large groups. Very spacious, fully equipped with everything you would need for a weekend away and clean and tidy. We opted for the extra luxury of the hot tub and was definitely worth the money. Dave, was very accommodating and allowed us to check out a little later which was really kind! We went for lunch at the Coronation, a mile up the hill and had a great afternoon with nice food and great service.

A superb house and would highly recommend to large groups! We will definitely be going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
Wow, we love groups that appreciate the house and we're so pleased you had so much fun! Love for you to come back again and if you do we shall include the hot tub FOC!! Thank you once again for the great review it means so much to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing