We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Ambal North & South Indian Restauarant
Get food delivered
Ranked #323 of 2,389 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$27
Cuisines: Indian
Description: In the heart of Leith walk, Golden Ambal welcomes you to explore a new food culture, a menu that will take you on a culinary journey around India, inspired from the exotic flavours of north and south. Our customers are our biggest promoters, and we are committed to providing the best experience every time. We guarantee that you will be a regular visitor after trying out our food once, because we believe authentic taste is above all. This made us one of the best reviewed restaurant in Edinburgh to serve north and south Indian food. Let it be a casual dine in or a big party, book a table online anytime from 2 hours up to 6 months in advance, we have the right space to accommodateup to 60 guests. We are delighted to celebrate our successful fourth year, with unique Mother's recepies crafted and perfectedover time. Proud to bring the authentic and diverse taste of India to Edinburgh, the great capital of Scotland.
Restaurant details
Description: In the heart of Leith walk, Golden Ambal welcomes you to explore a new food culture, a menu that will take you on a culinary journey around India, inspired from the exotic flavours of north and south. Our customers are our biggest promoters, and we are committed to providing the best experience every time. We guarantee that you will be a regular visitor after trying out our food once, because we believe authentic taste is above all. This made us one of the best reviewed restaurant in Edinburgh to serve north and south Indian food. Let it be a casual dine in or a big party, book a table online anytime from 2 hours up to 6 months in advance, we have the right space to accommodateup to 60 guests. We are delighted to celebrate our successful fourth year, with unique Mother's recepies crafted and perfectedover time. Proud to bring the authentic and diverse taste of India to Edinburgh, the great capital of Scotland.
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

We've said many times we'd like to visit here and never made it for various reasons.

We had bought a groupon and visited tonight for my husbands birthday.

There's a small seating area upstairs and we were in the bigger downstairs area. It was quite quiet but got busier as the night went on.

The waiter was very friendly and very quick. The food was all excellent and the flavours really packed a punch!

We would definitely go back and also recommend it.

They were advertising a thali lunch which looked delicious and excellent value too - worth checking out!!

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Abi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2018

I am a hardened dedicated curry enthusiast and I can best be described as discerning as regards good food.
I along with my partner took advantage of a groupon voucher to visit this restaurant which I believe was previously a Lebanese establishment.
The décor Inside is intimate however there is a large dining area downstairs.
We received a warm welcome the restaurant was well heated on a cold night and the friendly waiter brought iced water with the Cobra we ordered.
The food was the best I have tasted for a very long time the starters were generous with a good vegetarian selection the mains were first class I had chicken chilli tikka which was awesome (truly) and my partner had a Dal which she really enjoyed the rice and nan were perfect.
I was highly impressed by the service and quality of the food this restaurant offers and I intend making it a very regular haunt of mine in future.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Very happy with the service & the meal ordered on 06/03/2018.
Very delicious Chicken Biriyani, thanks for the freebie as well....

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank ren33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Booked a table after seeing the reviews. Straight from stepping inside the team were very friendly and happy. Service was excellent. Food was just incredible. Very reasonably priced and so tasty. Wasn’t rushed even after we had finished our food. Will definitely be going back and would highly recommend!!

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank KKS-0393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Booked for birthday party last week.we all enjoyed very much. The downstairs was spacious and delightful. The staffs were really friendly and also food was excellent. We had welcome drinks from house. Our group really enjoyed the party. We all ordered different starters and curries, it was very good and delicious. Dessert was also really nice. We all had a great time. It's an authentic Indian food in town. Strongly recommend to try it.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank nirosh1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Ambal North & South Indian Restauarant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Golden Ambal North & South Indian Restauarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.