We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous meal”

Golden Ambal North & South Indian Restauarant
Ranked #320 of 2,401 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$27
Cuisines: Indian
Description: In the heart of Leith walk, Golden Ambal welcomes you to explore a new food culture, a menu that will take you on a culinary journey around India, inspired from the exotic flavours of north and south. Our customers are our biggest promoters, and we are committed to providing the best experience every time. We guarantee that you will be a regular visitor after trying out our food once, because we believe authentic taste is above all. This made us one of the best reviewed restaurant in Edinburgh to serve north and south Indian food. Let it be a casual dine in or a big party, book a table online anytime from 2 hours up to 6 months in advance, we have the right space to accommodateup to 60 guests. We are delighted to celebrate our successful fourth year, with unique Mother's recepies crafted and perfectedover time. Proud to bring the authentic and diverse taste of India to Edinburgh, the great capital of Scotland.
Restaurant details
Description: In the heart of Leith walk, Golden Ambal welcomes you to explore a new food culture, a menu that will take you on a culinary journey around India, inspired from the exotic flavours of north and south. Our customers are our biggest promoters, and we are committed to providing the best experience every time. We guarantee that you will be a regular visitor after trying out our food once, because we believe authentic taste is above all. This made us one of the best reviewed restaurant in Edinburgh to serve north and south Indian food. Let it be a casual dine in or a big party, book a table online anytime from 2 hours up to 6 months in advance, we have the right space to accommodateup to 60 guests. We are delighted to celebrate our successful fourth year, with unique Mother's recepies crafted and perfectedover time. Proud to bring the authentic and diverse taste of India to Edinburgh, the great capital of Scotland.
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We took my parents for dinner on Sunday and we all thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

The service was excellent. The food was excellent. The portions are large and the food was extremely tasty. The restaurant is super clean.

They also had the world cup on the tv which helped keep the men folk happy!!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Abi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018

Nice Indian vegetarian food, good atmosphere, friendly staff and exceptional service, good value for money.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sowjanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Went on groupon deal...was very good value..
Service excellent
Good excellent
Will be back!
We're upstairs but they seem to have nice area downstairs too..

Date of visit: June 2018
3  Thank Sneakypetes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Delicious authentic food, pleasant service, reasonable prices... what's not to like! A bit dark in the basement restaurant, but otherwise my new favourite Indian restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Well, it’s at the end of town that I never pass, so the chances are low. It also didn’t look the most salubrious of establishments. Just shows how first impressions can be so far amiss
The only reason we did go was a Groupon Voucher for £19.95. This got us any two starters, any two mains, 1 rice & 1 (Garlic) Naan
It’s a real ‘Indian’ restaurant as against a Bangladeshi one, so things on the menu were unfamiliar and therefore needed investigation!
Mrs eLaReF had Mini Masala Dosa for a starter (£3.95). It’s a Crepe! It’s stuffed with Spiced Potato & Sauteed Onions and comes with three smaller dishes of sauces. Beware the smallest orangey-ish one! She followed this with a Chicken Korma (£8.95), which was, to my tastes, a bit sweet, but Mrs eLaReF has a different palate from yours truly
My starter was Chilli Chicken (£5.95) which comes with onion and green peppers. It was quite nippy also. My main was Murgh Kali Mirchi a very peppery Chicken dish (£8.95) which was pleasantly NOT sweet!
Pulao rice (3.45) and the Garlic Naan (£3.45) took up the rest of our voucher.
So the whole meal was £37.70s worth
It came with glasses of Iced water and we ordered a Diet Coke each which was £3.90s worth. We knew we would be paying for the Cokes
So we had a meal which should have cost, in whole numbers, £40 for £24. The meal was worth it at the full price, never mind the offer price and I would happily go there again and pay full prices.
I’m not a vegetarian, but perusing the menu, the Malai Kofta looks intriguing – Deep-fried potato and cream cheese dumpling bathed in cashew gravy, enriched with Saffron……..

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank eLaReF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Ambal North & South Indian Restauarant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Golden Ambal North & South Indian Restauarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.