We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth a Visit”
Review of Auld Hundred

Auld Hundred
Ranked #324 of 2,507 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: As one of many old Edinburgh pubs on Rose Street, the Auld Hundred, Edinburgh sets itself apart by beaming with history and character. We pride ourselves in providing traditional Scottish hospitality and serving fantastic traditional pub food in Edinburgh’s cosmopolitan city centre.
Inverness, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had lunch here 24th May and found it to be excellent value for money. It was obvious that the food had been cooked to order, and the taste and quality were very good. particularly enjoyed the hot smoked salmon. Drinks and coffees were very reasonably priced. Will definitely come back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank n0rcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auld H, General Manager at Auld Hundred, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi,

We're so glad you enjoyed our hot smoked salmon. Hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    201
    58
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good pub food”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Having dined out on the Friday evening at a 'proper' restaurant (which we did not partucularly enjoy!), we just wanted some good pub food on the Saturday before heading off to a concert and the Auld Hundred fitted the bill perfectly. The downstairs bar was crowded but as we only wanted a meal, the doorman allowed us to go upstairs where we easily got a table. I had the steak pie, which was excellent and a large portion and my wife had a chicken ranchero burger which she enjoyed. With a pint and a large glass of wine, the bill was just over £26, which was excellent value and the service was also very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeefyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auld H, General Manager at Auld Hundred, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi,

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to the Auld Hundred, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“misplaced order and little care”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stopped in here on the Easter weekend for dinner, it was reasonably busy but not packed. At first everything was going smoothly, but then a drink arrived with a bright pink lip mark on the glass - not sure how the staff missed that one. It was replaced (poured into another glass) when it was pointed out.

The wait for the food was long, at first we took this to be the norm until the couple next to us who had arrived and ordered about 15 minutes after us received their food. At this stage our waitress apologised and said the order hadn't been placed with the kitchen. She suggested getting chips but these would be charged for as it was an oversight. We declined and waited another 15 mins for burgers and haggis - these were ok quality. The wait and lack of care from the staff was disappointing. We wouldn't go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfbdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auld H, General Manager at Auld Hundred, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi,

Please accept my apologies for your dining experience, we strive to provide excellent service but obviously failed on this occasion. If you would like to contact me directly we can discuss this further and I hope to welcome you back to the Auld Hundred.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We visited the Auld Hundred by chance, whilst staying in Edinburgh. The food was both varied and very tasty. Seeing how the friendly and efficient were zipping back and forth to the kitchen, the chefs must have been working their sock off.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiltshirewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auld H, Manager at Auld Hundred, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi, Glad you enjoyed our tasty food! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful relaxing evening drinks in middle of busy city”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent little pub/restaurant in middle of Edinburgh. We didn't eat only drank. But would of tried the restaurant if we'd stayed longer in Edinburgh. Clean and tidy bar area. Only small, but busy pub, nice surroundings to have a drink and a chat, just what we were looking for after a long day site seeing. Staff friendly and drink prices were the best we found. Overall excellent

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auld H, Manager at Auld Hundred, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi,

I'm glad you enjoyed your drinks in our bar. You must stay for some food on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auld Hundred also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Auld Hundred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing