We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub for a lunch time bite”
Review of Auld Hundred

Auld Hundred
Ranked #327 of 2,505 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: As one of many old Edinburgh pubs on Rose Street, the Auld Hundred, Edinburgh sets itself apart by beaming with history and character. We pride ourselves in providing traditional Scottish hospitality and serving fantastic traditional pub food in Edinburgh’s cosmopolitan city centre.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great pub for a lunch time bite”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

If in Edinburgh and visiting Rose Street then Auld Hundred is well worth a visit. My husband and I visited it yesterday while shopping.
We both opted for haggis neeps and mash from the menu. We had starter sized portions which were ideal for lunch. It was delicious. Tasty and cooked to perfection. To accompany this lunch my husband had two pints of Belhaven Best and I had two gin and tonics. Our bill came to under £23 which is brilliant value for a popular eatery in the city centre. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanisWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auld H, General Manager at Auld Hundred, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your kind words, hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    199
    58
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lots of restaurants to choose from in Rose Street but settled on this one and pleased we did. Went upstairs and only one table left for us. Lovely service all evening. Great recommendations from the staff. Prices reasonable and varied menu. Rib eye steak was excellent and lovely chunky chips. A lovely evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nettie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auld H, General Manager at Auld Hundred, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the kind review, hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The bar was small but welcoming. Staff were friendly. The dining room was upstairs, entered via a spiral staircase. We had the menu but there were specials in the board. The food was tasty and good for the price. Good find.

Helpful?
Thank HelenJP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auld H, General Manager at Auld Hundred, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hi,

We're glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We found this place by chance while waiting to check in to our hotel. The restaurant area upstairs had a warm and friendly atmosphere and we were spoilt for choice by the menu. The service was excellent with the waitress willing to offer advice on what options were available on the menu, which did help :) When the food arrived we were not disappointed and we were so spoilt for choice on the desert menu we opted for the sharing plate. We would definitely return on our next visit to Edinburgh

Helpful?
Thank Bronia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auld H, General Manager at Auld Hundred, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hi,

The sharing dessert platter is something new that we're doing and it's proving extremely popular! So glad that you enjoyed your meal with us.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had lunch here 24th May and found it to be excellent value for money. It was obvious that the food had been cooked to order, and the taste and quality were very good. particularly enjoyed the hot smoked salmon. Drinks and coffees were very reasonably priced. Will definitely come back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank n0rcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auld H, General Manager at Auld Hundred, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi,

We're so glad you enjoyed our hot smoked salmon. Hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auld Hundred also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Auld Hundred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing