We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honestly SO happy I went here.”
Review of David Bann

David Bann
Ranked #150 of 2,528 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Honestly SO happy I went here.”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My boyfriend and I were in Edinburgh for a few days and for our Anniversary night he wanted to take me somewhere special and boy did he get that right!
I'm a veggie (he's not) and in Cardiff we don't have any restaurants that are vegetarian (only a few hippy or indian cafes) so for me, I was in heaven!
I've never ever been spoiled for choice, I wanted everything! It was a candlelit, romantic restaurant, had nice wine and a delicious starter and main.
Really lovely food, the portions were a good size (was too full for a desert) I just wish I could go back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvcatrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    868
    417
    162
    59
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as previous visits”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I love David Bann's but on this occasion, I felt a little underwhelmed. The main meal (parsnip and blue cheese pudding) was superb. However the accompaniments were a let down. Luke warm beetroot and butter beans I suspect had been sat on the plate waiting in the kitchen. The roast potatoes resembled boiled potatoes that had been fried off in a pan. The desserts were pretty average. Service was good and the atmosphere was the same as ever. Maybe I just caught them on an off day. I will of course still go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fooooody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Having heard lots of good reviews on this restaurant, we decided to give it a try. Although the service and food presentation was great, the food itself was disappointing. Even the huge portion sizes didn't make up for this.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyM123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“three days on, I'm still thinking about this food!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Following a recommendation from a local shopkeeper, we managed to get the last table on a Saturday evening. Service, setting, food - outstanding., It was a busy night so quite noisy (lots of hard surfaces) and we prefer quiet places, however, this experience was SO good, we didn't care! We had a charming waiter (Bob) who despite being rushed off his feet, made time for a chat...and then came the food. Stop reading this. Start booking a table!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieEllisLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkland, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, shame about the service”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

First time visitor. Heard lots about it.

Can't fault the food - superb on all 3 courses. Definitely recommend for food - well done kitchen staff.

The serving staff however - not so good on 3 counts:
1. I had a chipped wine glass. When I notified a member of staff they replaced it but without any apology or sign of concern. Just a matter of fact "Oh OK".
2. As we finished out desert course the staff were taking the candles and other items off the unoccupied tables and removing used items from our table with unnecessary haste, as if to say we are closing soon we want you to leave. This despite several tables still being occupied.
3. We weren't even offered coffee! Presumably for the same reason as above.
All very disappointing and spoiled an otherwise very fine meal.
I should have specified our tip was for the kitchen staff.

Great food, shame about the service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Y0rkieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed David Bann also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to David Bann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing