We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous cakes and great service”
Review of Cuckoo's Bakery

Cuckoo's Bakery
Ranked #6 of 56 Bakeries in Edinburgh
Description: Our Bruntsfield Cake Shop is a celebration of all things (mostly) sweet, happily nestled between a host of scrummy neighbours in foodie haven at 116 Bruntsfield Place. You'll find our signature cupcakes, brownies and layer cakes alongside loose leaf teas, hot chocolates and great coffee . If you're in the mood for savoury, you can enjoy a delicious toasted cheese on sourdough (company bakery bread) or a heart-warming bowl of our homemade soup, perfect with our cheese scone. Everything we serve is fresh, seasonal and yummy You canorder your celebration cakes here for a truly bespoke Cuckoo creation. You won't be able to take your eyes off our iconic haberdashery cabinet, our Cuckoo calling card, which houses our award-winning cupcakes and takes pride of place in our airy shop. Escape from the world at one of our tables and enjoy our carefully curated menu of cake, scones, loose leaf tea, bespoke blended coffee and carefully selected cold drinks.
Restaurant details
Description: Our Bruntsfield Cake Shop is a celebration of all things (mostly) sweet, happily nestled between a host of scrummy neighbours in foodie haven at 116 Bruntsfield Place. You'll find our signature cupcakes, brownies and layer cakes alongside loose leaf teas, hot chocolates and great coffee . If you're in the mood for savoury, you can enjoy a delicious toasted cheese on sourdough (company bakery bread) or a heart-warming bowl of our homemade soup, perfect with our cheese scone. Everything we serve is fresh, seasonal and yummy You canorder your celebration cakes here for a truly bespoke Cuckoo creation. You won't be able to take your eyes off our iconic haberdashery cabinet, our Cuckoo calling card, which houses our award-winning cupcakes and takes pride of place in our airy shop. Escape from the world at one of our tables and enjoy our carefully curated menu of cake, scones, loose leaf tea, bespoke blended coffee and carefully selected cold drinks.
Reviewed 23 March 2023

I ordered a 21st birthday cake for my daughter - salted caramel and chocolate - and it was delicious. Although her address is a bit tricky to find, delivery went smoothly and the whole experience was stress-free - efficient but with a personal touch. Thank you!

Date of visit: February 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank N7073WHkater
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cuckoo's Bakery, Owner at Cuckoo's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2023

Hey! Thanks so much for the lovely review, I hope your daughter had a lovely 21st birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2023 via mobile

I have been going to cuckoo's bakery for years. They are definitely the best cakes in town. I stay local to the store in Bruntsfield, and it’s where I go when I want to treat myself or a friend. I always look forward to their seasonal cakes.The team are very creative, and the cupcakes taste sensational. The staff are always lovely and friendly too.

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank G2586INrachelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cuckoo's B, Owner at Cuckoo's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

Hello, Thanks so much for this lovely review its really appreciated! We have our Easter and Mothers day cupcakes coming to the shops next :) xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2022 via mobile

Absolutely delicious!! I’ve been meaning to go hear for a while and now I am so glad I did. We were greeted by a welcoming and friendly member of staff. She described with detail each cupcake which we enquired about. Since so many sounded lovely we decided to get 6 of them. They have also recently won an award for their cheese scones so I had to get one. The cupcakes were put in a nicely branded box. I was surprised how tasty these cupcakes were. The standouts were the Nutella cheesecake, which had amazing texture and cheesecake filling was wonderful, and the Christmas pudding which was so deliciously indulgent. When I took a bite of the Nutella cheesecake I said to my wife, “this could be the best cupcake I’ve ever tasted”. Then the following day I tried the Christmas pudding which made me question my original statement. The gingerbread cupcake was also excellent! As per recommendation I heated the scone up slightly and had it with some strawberry jam which was also very nice. Cupcakes are the winner though! Perhaps on the slightly expensive side but when they taste that good I don’t mind paying that little extra. I’ll 100% be back!

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank Charlie_Carstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cuckoo's B, General Manager at Cuckoo's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2023

Hi Charlie! Thank you for the lovely words. I'm so glad you enjoyed the cupcakes, they nutella cheesecake is a top fav of mine too. See you again soon! - Sammie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2022 via mobile

Cuckoos Bakery provided an outstanding service from first contact to home delivery. A beautifully crafted cake for a special birthday party. Complimented by everyone in the company–including the party venue staff. Superb! I could not recommend this independent bakery highly enough.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank Aisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cuckoo's B, General Manager at Cuckoo's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2023

Hi Aisha

Thanks so much! I'm so pleased everyone loved it, thanks for supporting our business. - Sammie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2022

Over the years, I have bought cupcakes and celebration cakes from the Bruntsfield Cuckoos Bakery and they have always been top quality and totally delicious! The staff are super friendly too; and the business is also very supportive of its local community too with mind donations for various endeavours. A great asset to the already lovely Bruntsfield line up of independent businesses!

Date of visit: December 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CMDNS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cuckoo's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Cuckoo's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.