We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick, cheap, tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Yum Yum HK Diner - CLOSED

Yum Yum HK Diner
Price range: US$10 - US$21
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Level Contributor
128 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Quick, cheap, tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Needed a quick meal and went here: looks basic and is small. But quick efficient service, food cooked v quickly. We had vermicelli singapore style and hofun noodle malaysian style. Very nice and spicy, and good amount. Would go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goldenthigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    5
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful Customer Service! Food is not that great either.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

First of, i went there for bubble tea. They didn't have any. The place seems to be owned by a family. The server was their son, and parents couldn't speak a word of english. The waiter was quite nice and seemed to do only what his parents said. Since there was no bubble tea i decided to at least eat something there. And it was a big mistake. They don't accept credit cards. So i said i can go and take some money out, the parents were so rude and pointed for me to leave my bag there, which i didn't want to do, but out of respect i left it there and went to take out money. When i came back, they were still cooking and i asked them to put it in the take away bag so they dont have to make the plates dirty. When i sat to eat next to the windows so i am away from the kitchen and didn't want to smell like food. The father again said something in chinese, really loudly and the waiter told me to move from my place and sit next to the kitchen. NO ONE DOES THAT!!! When i asked the reason why, the boy said oh, i will be blocking the entrance. Now keep in mind, the table i sat on was on the corner far away from the door. I am 1.61 and 47 kgs. I am small and how is it possible for me to block the way?! Then again, out of respect i moved next to the kitchen and when i tried to pick up the chopsticks the father yelled again, and the guy stopped me and gave me those wooden chopsticks for one use. The food wasn't that great either, few pieces of duck and most of it was bone. I felt kind of violated (sounds harsh, but this is how i felt) and unwelcome there. JUST AWFUL!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Aydan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst service ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Cosy place, Food was honestly ok, reasonable price too. But the attitude of the waitress was outraged!! Everytime!!! We have been there a couple of times, only for the sake of close... Will never come back again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Stocking_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“No frill Chinese cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

I had a quick dinner here (Ho fun seafood £6.50 for 2 prawns, squids, fish cakes) for one because I was staying nearby. Very small cramped cafe, 4 tables suitable for 2, 2 tables suitable for 4max. So not a place for a good night out or to impress your first date but as a "eat & go" place. Food is on a salty side, so do drink plenty of water afterwards.
May come again if passby and try other dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YeeSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty cheap food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

As a late night food place was great and cheap. The falafals were mega tasty and a great price with plenty of room to sit inside whilst you wait in the warmth

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yum Yum HK Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing