We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
74
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster georgian house top floor living room within easy reach breakfast was amazing spent two nights full scottish each morning train station walking distance city centre royal mile jemima chinoiserie sideboard hosts
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Scott House, run by the friendly, helpful owner Jemima, is a gem of a B&B, located within easy walking distance of everything -- New Town, Old Town, the train station, and the bus station. It is a direct, easy, inexpensive tram ride to the airport. Terrific restaurants are right around the corner. The B&B itself is a beautifully restored mansion, with spacious, high-ceiling bedrooms, wonderfully comfortable beds, and large, modern bathrooms, as well as an inviting common living room with a piano and other musical instruments. The breakfasts were superb and bountiful, prepared by Jemima's husband, a trained chef. Coffee, tea, and cookies were provided in the rooms every day. Scott House was among the highlights of my absolutely delightful stay in Scotland and I cannot wait to return.

Room tip: The bedrooms are on the second and third floors, accessible only by stairs.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 18thNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We absolutely loved our stay at Scott house. Spotlessly clean and beautiful decor in the room. There is a very welcoming dining room and lounge both very comfortable and luxurious.
Jemima was a lovely friendly host who told us the history of this beautiful house. The breakfasts were second to none with a full cooked breakfast and a selection of fresh fruit, cereal, toast, etc all laid out on a lovely old sideboard.
We stayed on the top floor and the water pressure was excellent and lovely and hot.
The location within Edinburgh is great as it is about a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile from where many of the attractions can be reached.
We would not hesitate to stay at this lovely house for a second time.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sbath2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Stayed 2nights for tattoo couldn't have stayed at a better place clean friendly and the best breakfast you could ask for wouldn't hesitate to recommended to anybody close to local bars and restaurants but still quiet at night in comfortable bed

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paulellen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Around 10-15mins walk to the hotel. Run by a friendly family. Upgraded me to a better room. The room is large, clean with nice decorations. Breakfast was wonderful. The host told me about her family, history of the hotel and future planning. It is very interesting to know more about the place I stayed.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezscript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Scott House for two nights on our anniversary trip. We booked the four poster bedroom which was just beautiful! The bed was comfortable and all the furnishings are just lovely. Jemima is a very friendly hostess and offered good advice for things to see in the city. The location is within waking distance of the Royal Mile and all that area has to offer. Breakfast each morning was cooked to order and there were also a large amount of cold items to choose from. Highly recommend this beautiful place!!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank reedps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews