We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such a cosy little bolt hole”
other travellers have booked this property
Gorgeous sitting room with wood burner and Scottish art and fabrics aplenty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gorgeous sitting room with wood burner and Scottish art and fabrics aplenty
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Gorgeous sitting room with wood burner and Scottish art and fabrics aplenty
Original Scottish art
Sharpen up around the greens in the Snug
Spacious and luxurious master bedroom superkingsize double or 2 singles
More original Scottish art and a mix of contemporary furniture with Scottish tartans.
Bedroom 2 - Kingsize double or 2 singles
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3 Kingsize double or 2 x singles
Bedroom 3
Hallway to bathroom
Luxurious bathroom with digital control under floor heating
Fab tub
Walk in shower
Shiny taps!
Hallway into kitchen
Dining area and window seat
Fully stocked kitchen
Kitchen sink
Hallway welcome
Tartan details
Lots of cushions
Best cotton bed linen and soft towels
Send everyone out exploring and read a book right here
A great place to come for a special occasion
Discrete style
Bacon and eggs and Classic FM?
Edinburgh art and Scottish Tweed
Don't go out - stay in!
Detail everywhere
Original shutters as well as heavy tartan curtains - double insulation!
Contemporary furnishings alongside traditional colours and fabrics
One of the most picturesque streets in Edinburgh's West End ('best end').
Quiet, classic cobbled street with boutique shops
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ino58
harpenden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a cosy little bolt hole”
Reviewed 3 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

As a family of 6 with a 7 month baby we were all really impressed with the lovely snug. It had everything we needed and was cosy and warm. It is well placed for getting to the city centre and near bus stops etc although we tended to walk everywhere. The 3 pubs nearby were all nice although we particularly liked Teutchers as it was old and traditional. Try the haggis stovie or the Cullen skink. We came for the rugby six nations game between Scotland and England and it was a fairly easy walk to Murrayfield , just a shame about the result!.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SVW83
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect Christmas Getaway!”
Reviewed 11 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The William Street Snug was simply perfect for our Christmas trip to Edinburgh. The snug is incredibly homely and has everything you need for a comfortable stay including a few toys to keep the little people entertained.

The owner had arranged a welcome pack full of essentials for our arrival and there is handy Sainsburys local just around the corner.

We walked to most places during our stay, Princes Street which has loads of well know high street stores on it is less than 5 mins away. Edinburgh Castle is also walkable and worth a visit. The old town has stunning architecture and has lots of of hidden walkways to explore.

We visited a number of places to eat and drink during our trip and would recommend:

Voyage of the Buck (below the snug)
Scran & Scallie
The Dome
Printing Press & Kitchen
Whiski Rooms

There are too many good places to choose from in all honesty.

Communication with the owner Andy was fantastic which made our family trip completely hassle free.

We would definitely return to the William Street Snug and would highly recommended it to anyone who is thinking about visiting Edinburgh.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Appartment”
Reviewed 20 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Stayed here for 3 night in mid December and it was a fantastic apartment. It’s very clean and each room is a good size and it just feels like it’s your own Appartment and not a holiday let. We will be booking again. 5* apartment

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsfixit5...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Edinburgh flat, 5 star standard”
Reviewed 10 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

William Street is a hidden little gem of a place, attractive with it's cobbles, independent shops, bistros/ cafes and the 3 pubs. At this time of year with the tasteful Christmas decorations up the street is a delight to return to.
The entrance door to the block (between the 2 pubs) teases you as to what lies above. An absolutely gorgeous spacious flat, like a 5 star hotel. Tastefully decorated and very Scottish with thick tweed curtains to make sure you stay warm and cosy . Comfortable beds with soft linens and ample pillows and cushions for that lazy lie in !! The wood burner was a big hit too . Copious hot water for showers ( and wow...what a shower it is) meant that no one went cold.
Having a tram stop just 2 minutes round the corner was a plus after spending the day exploring the delights of the city .
We ate at The Melville, having very reasonably priced foo, which in my case was Fish & Chips.....beautifully cooked thick cod with skinny chips, neither were greasy and both very good, the Harviestons Bitter & Twisted was spot on too. A special meal out at Otro just round the block ,was also enjoyed by all, though the high ceilings in the dining room meant it was a little noisy.
I would highly recommend this flat, and would love to stay again in the future. Many thanks Andy

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The only place I ever plan to stay while in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This really is a gorgeous flat. It has bags of character as well as being decorated in a beautifully Scottish but very contemporary way. The lovely decor does not detract from the cosy, homely feel. I spent a cold afternoon curled up on the sofa with a book and it was fabulous.
The location is second to none, on a buzzy but traffic-quiet cobbled street, above a lovely gastro pub (great lunch and wine) and a 5 min walk to Princes St.
The owner manages the set up extremely well. He gives a fantastic guide to all you need to know too. Everything went and worked according to plan. We had a great 4 days and were very sad to leave. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petermac6...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hide-away slap bang in the centre of Edinburgh!”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we were blown away by the location, pubs and restaurants in the same street as our accommodation - a great wee restaurant was 10 footsteps from our door!
When entering the apartment, it was spotless and toasty warm and inviting.
The attention to detail in design, decor and comfort were impressive.
We were over for a big birthday bash. It was perfect for us 3 couples but would equally suit a family.
We were in walking distance from every place you would care to visit in this atmospheric old city.
We'd definitely book again as this is one of the nicest City break apartments we've ever stayed in!
Thanks again Andy for making it such a memorable stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing