We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Mariachi

Mariachi
Ranked #98 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: Mexican, Central American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was my favourite place due to move from town I am not able to visit regularly. Last week I went back with my family still very good food and service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bishopj340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    223
    50
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Party time!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

8 of us ate here on Sunday before going to a concert and opted for their party menu. It had limited choice, 4 starters/mains but all the goodies were there. Slightly disappointed with the starters as only warm, not hot in temperature (nicely spicy though) but the fajita's more than made up for it as they were fab. Good portions and very tasty. The puddings were amazing and we also got 2 bottles of wine thrown in for the deal price of £22 each. We left full, merry and happy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Issie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
226 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Went as part of a group and had the set menu at £22 each, which included wine (pointed out to us by the very helpful waiter, as we were about to start spending lots of money on drinks). Food was good and plentiful though scarcely haute cuisine, but you wouldn't go to a mexican for haute cuisine. Spicy mushrooms was a good serving of mushrooms in a very spicy sauce, then most of us had fajitas, my steak one was fine, plentiful and only a little bit chewy. We were allowed to have a drink instead of a pud if we wanted, but the puds looked pretty good. Great food for lining the stomach before a night on the town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chocsEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Mexican with Great Food and Staff”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Have been here a few times and it is one of my favourites. The food is always delicious and I can't see past the chicken fajitas - always a winner! There is a good range of Mexican food and also have a great range of tequila shots and cocktails, the margaritas are lovely. Staff are very attentive and the restaurant has a traditional feel to it. It's also in the heart of Edinburgh city centre.

Helpful?
Thank FIONAGEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The food was fresh and very tasty. The staff were attentive and funny. It was nice to sit outdoors and eat whilst people watching, surrounded by beautiful architecture

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mariachi also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Mariachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing