We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$847
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$681
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
16
9
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
9
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Located in a very quiet and pleasant residential area, yet a stones throw from the centre of Edinburgh this was a great base for a long weekend stay. Yes it's above a sauna but the whole place is so tucked away down a quiet residential street it doesn't feel like it and chances are there'll be no-one around to see you heading in and out if that would bother you. Blissfully quiet at night, the room was clean, stylish and well catered with a small kitchenette and free bottled water, juice, biscuits, yoghurts and muffins. Great value all in all, with friendly check in staff too. If you're prudish about the idea of being above a gay sauna don't stay here. Otherwise for anyone looking for a well located, quiet and great value base, don't hesitate to consider this place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Groovin_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

For us, Village Apartments was the perfect base for our short visit to Edinburgh.

There is one review on here where there is a complaint that you have to check in through the Steamworks sauna. Not sure how they’d missed that when they booked. It is made very clear.

So what, as it's target market is the gay male traveller? It’s amazingly cheap and if the price to pay (GBP60/night) is standing next to some guy in a towel while you get your room key (remember, only once, when you arrive) then it’s a price we were more than happy to pay. The added bonus, if it's your thing, is the possible entertainment right down stairs :) We didn't partake.

Once checked in, those staying in the apartments have a separate entrance. As the building is at the end of a cul-de-sac (that is outside of the controlled traffic area) we were able to park right outside for free. Fantastic.

We stayed in the Junior Suite and although compact, we wanted for nothing. Our rate included a ‘continental ‘ breakfast, so each morning we had a yoghurt, muffin and coffee/tea to get us started. There is a street full of restaurants at the end of Broughton Market, our recommendation Nom de Plume.

Providing you have no issue checking in via the sauna, The Village Apartments is a fantastic base for gay travellers to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pandaboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Me and my Fiancee stayed at Village Apartments for one night in September, apartments are located in the heart of the city centre 2 mins walk away from everything.
Village Apartments offers, value for money amazing rooms, very stylish, welcoming and everything you would need in an apartment!
The staff are very friendsly and approachable and will go out your way for you!

A continental breakfast is provided for you so you can enjoy breakfast in bed.

All you could ever need for the perfect stay in Edinburgh, myself and my partner would definately recoment this to anyone!

Thank you Village Apartments

Anthony & Alex McGrant

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ants280886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Just like to say thank you for a wonderfull stay. We were with you from 21st-25th aug in room 1. the apartment was great and have never stayed in gay area were it has been so quiet you cld hear a pin drop at night and during the day just the usuall coming and goings of cars.
The only down side we felt was the abscence of a wardrobe and full length mirror.
We found edinburgh fantastic the tattoo and theartre were great as well the whole area was buzzin with people and the atmosphere was brill.
The blue moon cafe was out of this world the food and service were fantastic.
After alot of deliberation we even tried our first sauna something we will do again ha ha.
We will be returning in the near future.
Once again thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turntain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

we arrived at the hotel late on the first night, we originally booked this hotel / apartment for 1 night only.....due to the excellent customer service and great staff we decided to pay for a further 2 nights.

i cannot give any feedback simply because i could NOT fault the place

ideal for both gay couples, groups or even single gay men.

this place is an absolute gem 10/10 well done to all staff

see you all soon

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TONYWAYNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews