We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Kismot

Kismot
Ranked #58 of 2,505 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$24
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: Wee Family run Indian and Bangladeshi restaurant.Mum and Dad cooking with the kids at the front of house.Bring your own bottle (no corkage charge, wine and beer only)Food cooked and served with alot of love and affection.Try our mums homestyle cooking chicken and lamb on the bone (what we have for dinner at home !) Dont forget the chocolate nan bread and other dishe's only available at our place my friends ! ! ! :)Open every day 4.30pm to 11.30pm
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Food fantastic full of flavours. Portions generous Staff very attentive. Would recommend and definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beech63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Family_at_Kismot, Manager at Kismot, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello there

Thanks for the positive review, we are glad you enjoyed all aspects of dining with us!

Hope to see you again soon.

Love from the family at Kismot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,624
    267
    95
    54
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent - Again!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Love Kismot, excellent food, great service, cannot fault the place at all. My wife and I took two friends who are real curry lovers so the pressure was on and Kismot did the business, well done, excellent. Happy to recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bighalders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Family_at_Kismot, Manager at Kismot, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello there

Lovely review, thank you very much! Glad we did not disappoint your friends when the pressure was on!

Definitely hope to see you back soon

Love from the family at Kismot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very Good.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Kismot is a very well run restaurant, looks great, staff are excellent, portions are very generous. Food is very good, if a bit expensive? Averaged at about £18 per head just on food with no poppadoms or desserts. Best in Edinburgh? not for me, but I would go back no problem, really enjoyed my evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Family_at_Kismot, Manager at Kismot, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello there

Thank you very much for your kind review, it is appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed all aspects of the evening.

We do not think of ourselves as 'best in Edinburgh' as that is just down to a matter of opinion. We have mum and dad in the kitchen cooking authentic Indian dishes from back home, hopefully feeding our customers well.

Hope to see you again soon.

Love from the family at Kismot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochinver
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Maybe we went to wrong Kismot”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Having read the reviews I really looked forward to my meal.the smell as you enter fuelled my anticipation.Sadly it ended there flavour, tenderness ,succulence ,best Indian for miles, were all expressions miles from my mind.The reviews were obviously written by students on a cheap night needing fuel out with BYOB.If you love Indian don't bother.How there are so many high reviews I fail to see,no one upset me the waitress was polite and pleasant but food just did not live up to reviews.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
16 Thank Dellboy2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Family_at_Kismot, Manager at Kismot, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello there

Sorry to hear that you did not feel we lived up to your expectations. Time after time our customers return and we get a lot of great feedback regarding our food, but we do understand that everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

If you ever return maybe we can change your mind.

Love from the family at Kismot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wanted to go for a while”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Did not disappoint. Mum's Deshi chicken was very tasty and generous. Enjoyed a Cobra from the Saintsbury's five minutes away.

Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Family_at_Kismot, Manager at Kismot, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello there

Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed dining with us.

Mum's Deshi chicken is a good choice, as we have mum in the kitchen working tirelessly to create authentic Indian dishes from back home!

Love from the family at Kismot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kismot also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Kismot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing