We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service and Average Food”
Review of Garfunkel's - CLOSED

Garfunkel's
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: With its sterling reputation, Garfunkel's serves a wonderfully eclectic mix of British and international cuisine. A simple yet on-trend eatery, Garfunkel's serves an array of diverse menus, from breakfast through to dinner. The afternoon tea selection presents a sophisticated range, as well as delectable desserts and gourmet coffees.
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Came to Garfunkles as my parents rave about the ones in London. It was a very rainy afternoon in Edinburgh and we decided to have a very late lunch (4pm). The restaurant was virtually empty apart from one table who had arrived before us and one table just leaving. We were greeted quite pleasantly but the time between ordering drinks and getting them..20 minutes!! did I say it was almost empty? A few more people arrive after us and they had babies which seemed to please the staff who cooed over them and seemed to neglect us. The food was average, nothing special so won't be popping into a Garfunkles sometime soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sammylammy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Marketing Coordinator at Garfunkel's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hi Sammylammy40

Thank you for your review.

Please accept our sincere apologies that you were left dispointed having visited our high street Garfunkel's restaurant. This is far from our usual standards of food and service, and I will be sure to pass on your feedback so that our staff are aware. We hope you will give Garfunkels another chance in the near future.

Kind Regards
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 239 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

I've been there twice now, the first time was not so good, it was literally impossible to get contact with a waiter so you could get your bill and pay. The food was avarage, not worth that much money. Second time, I had a very kind waiter, who really took his time to talk about the menu and such, the only downside was that when I got the food it was cold, but all in all good resturant

Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Marketing Coordinator at Garfunkel's, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear M B

Thank you for your review.

Apologies that we have been inconsistent during your visits, it is always our intention to provide effecient service and great food. We hope you will return to Garfunkel's and give us another chance to provide an all round positive experience.

Kind Regards
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Having not dined at this chain for many years, this was our second visit in six months. At this branch our party of four ordered burgers. The wait was acceptable (though it was mid-afternoon and not busy) and the food was excellent, as demonstrated by the clean plates at the end! We found the staff to be friendly and professional, and would definitely return.

Thank Kayenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Marketing Coordinator at Garfunkel's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi Kayenne,

Thank you for your review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Garfunkel's, hope to see you again soon!!

Kind Regards
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a great wee lunch there on the Sunday, with some really nice staff too.

Turns out that upstairs is MASSIVE too, which only means its a bit of a slog to get to the loos.

But the food was fine and the staff were friendly. Certainly worthwhile.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grumzitron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Marketing Coordinator at Garfunkel's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hey

Thanks for your review!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your lunch at Garfunkel's, we are delighted to hear that the staff were friendly and the service recieved was of good standard

Hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a very nice restaurant and the staff were very friendly. We had to wait quite a while on our drinks but apart from that everything was to a good standard.

Thank kjf_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Marketing Coordinator at Garfunkel's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hi kjf_x

Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your visit to Garfunkel's and found our staff friendly and food up to standard, we hope you will return in the near future

Kind Regards
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garfunkel's also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing