We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Mussles”

Mussel and Steak Bar
Ranked #307 of 2,452 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$0 - US$62
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Had lunch here and the specials were very reasonable and delicious. Great mussels, with numerous variations on the theme on their main menu. I would definitely have returned again, had I spent more time in Edinburgh. It's smack in the middle of "Old Town."

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank kenh393
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 717 of 2,689 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2016

Whenever we go to Edinburgh for the Fringe Festival we always make sure we have time in our schedule to have a meal at Mussel and Steak Bar. The food is fabulous with a good range of dishes from which to choose. Service is excellent. Would highly recommend a visit no matter what the occasion.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank JulieD45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

We went on our last night abroad. The food was amazing. We got two different kinds of mussel pots. The shallots and the thai. The shallots were my favorite. Definitely a best seller for a reason. We happened to get there right before the rush, but after 8pm people were lined up to get a table. We sat outside which was perfect. Great selection of scotch. One of my favorite places we went to eat!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Felicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

We came for a spot of lunch on arrival into Edinburgh. Service was friendly and quick. I had mussels which were delicious and a fantastic portion and my boyfriend had the steak; cooked to perfection and a good portion size. We will definitely return.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

This used to be my very favourite restaurant every time I visited Edinburgh. Went yesterday last minute and ordered a Pot of mussels and the infamous beef dripping fried chips to share. Firstly the waiter was very unhelpful and impatient with us. Secondly what has happened to those amazing crispy homemade chips. Now it's bog standard frozen chips!! Omg why have you done that? The mussels were fine but we chose the wrong sauce as it was very bland. So upset that this amazing restaurant had lost its touch. Please go back to the way it was.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank dundeedawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Mussel and Steak Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mussel and Steak Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.