We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orchard Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Falkirk B&B and Inns
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Good basic hotel in handy location. Car park at back. Handy for town centre and local tourist amenities (The Kelpies, The Falkirk Wheel). Cheeriest, friendliest staff you could wish for. Nothing fancy, but just right for the 2 day trip we had in the area. Rooms at the back are quite quiet, possible traffic noise from the road towards the front.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quiet. Possible road noise from the rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGS957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    22
    14
    12
    14
See reviews for
11
28
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My friend and i went here for lunch. Had been here before and enjoyed our meal reason why we went back, but don't think we will be back again. We chose the two course lunch. I chose the pate' which was tasteless thank goodness for the onion chutney to give it a bit of taste. My friend had the soup which was half a bowl. My main course was fish and chips the fish was like a fish finger done in batter three bites and it was gone. My friend had the steak pie which looked like an individual steak pie cut in half and she got the half!!!! The only good thing i can say from this visit is the staff are very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Falkirk hotels

Stirling
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We just turned up on the off chance that we would get a table on a Friday and were showed to a table straight away. Great start.
The waiting staff were very attentive but not intrusive, another tick in the check list. They were very patient while I debated what to have.
I chose a prawn cocktail to start, which came minus the usual cocktail glass, another tick and a nice change. First niggle was that they didn't provide any butter for the bread that accompanied it and the Balsamic reduction they used was a little but too overpowering for the dish. This may be me being picky, but the prawn cocktail was great otherwise.
For main I chose a Pasta Carbonara. When it came I was a little disappointed as for £11 I would have expected more on the plate. But although the pasta was a little thick for my liking, it was definitely homemade and the sauce and bacon were perfect. My husband chose the loaded burger which contained a burger a chicken breast, bacon and cheese. He said that all the meat items were overcooked and dry and that spoiled it for him.
As he had declined on a starter he asked if I would share a dessert with him. He went for the sharing Chocolate Explosion. This was advertised on the menu as containing fudge Cake, Vanilla Ice cream, Strawberries, Marshmallows, Chocolate Mousse, Chocolate Sauce and cream. Yummy you're saying?? Well it would have been but there were no signs of the Fudge cake, strawberries, Marshmallow or Chocolate Mousse. What we did get was a big chunk of Millionaire shortcake surrounded by Ice cream, chocolate chips and very over whipped cream. Wouldn't have minded this so much if we had been told of the changes but was disappointed because it was not what we expected and it was £10 for the dessert all bar 5p.

It was a lovely restaurant, candlelit tables were very conducive to a date night. But it let itself down a little with the food and everything was overpriced, My husband only had diet coke as he was driving and they were charging £2.50 a bottle. And another observation was the menu only seemed to have 2 or 3 British dishes on it. It seems to be geared up to International dishes.

And for this reason alone we will probably not go again, but a nice quiet night out was had.

Room Tip: Don't go here if you want British food. If you like Fajitas and pasta and curries etc, this is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkinwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I have been here several times for a meal, but this is the first time I have finally wrote a review. I have never had a bad meal or a bad experience here. I always love the food, the atmosphere and the service is fabulous! On Hogmanay, it was just as good as always. Great way to our start to Hogmanay. Will be there again very soon.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sherilyn654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed at the Orchard Hotel for 2 nights 29th & 30th November and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Our bedroom was basic but for £40pn it was a bargain. The staff could not do enough for us and were very attentive. The bar & restaurant were lively and the food was very good. Breakfast was included and we both had hearty plates. Will definitely stay here again when we next visit Falkirk.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from the lively bar would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesDonaldson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

I'm self employed and work away a lot so hotels are often a begrudged expense out of my profit so I often chose the cheapest to get my head down.

What appealed to me about the orchard was the price.

Don't let this put you off.

I arrived at 3am as I was working nights and was greeted by the night porter who was happy to serve me a couple of pints without feeling I was inconveniencing him.

The room was basic and very clean, all I need really, tea/coffee and decent shower.

Room included breakfast and I was worried I'd miss it as I didn't intend to vacate room till midday.

Not a problem, one of the girls made a note for the maids to leave me alone till midday and I could have a full breakfast in the restaurant at midday. Fantastic service!!!

Got down to bar at 1230 and was offered a large freshly ground coffee and the breakfast menu.

Scottish breakfast and other options looked good but I had the 'Residents Breakfast' 2 sausage, bacon, 2 eggs, toast, beans and mushrooms.
Where I'm from you'd get charged £10 for a breakfast of this size and quality!! It was included in the price.

All in all a fantastic place for the money and compliments to the night porter and waitress/bar staff.


Excellent job.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank WiggyMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Very very clean and comfortable. Well worth the money I paid on late rooms. Full Scottish breakfast in the morning was superb. Fast WiFi also and staff seem really freindly. As it was a sat night I was expecting the room to be really loud.... but some of the rooms are in a different complex from the main bar. So I didn't hear a squeak all night. So if u are booking deffo worth asking if you can be put in that complex. Well worth a visit!!! Will deffo stay again and recondmend to any friends.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weaver1282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falkirk
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cladhan
Hotel Cladhan
#5 of 10 in Falkirk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Park Hotel
#4 of 10 in Falkirk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk North Hotel
0.0 mi away
Antonine Hotel
Antonine Hotel
#9 of 10 in Falkirk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hotel

Property: Orchard Hotel
Address: 2 Kerse Lane, Falkirk FK1 1RG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Falkirk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Falkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the very heart of Falkirk town centre The Orchard Hotel has car parking provided. The Hotel boasts a friendly atmosphere with a "home from home" ambiance and houses an excellent Bistro and Public Bar with En-suite Accommodation. The Orchard Hotel has unfortunately no disabled access. The building is Georgian and access to the rooms is by a staircase. Excellent negotiable rates are available for all our rooms. Accommodation can be negotiated to include bed, breakfast & evening meals or any other specific requirements you may have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Hotel Falkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing