We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base for Glasgow/Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Falkirk
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Base for Glasgow/Edinburgh”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the Glasgow Commonwealth Games because it was the closest to Glasgow we could find at a reasonable price. It is only a short drive/20 min walk from the main station which has an excellent service to Glasgow and Edinburgh.
Perhaps we were unlucky that our room was small and very stuffy because the weather was unseasonably warm! . The hotel did provide a fan which helped.
The staff were all friendly and the food was also good .
Overall, reasonable value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    161
    87
    43
    13
See reviews for
72
125
17
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
telford
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here 3 nights...not cheap but then it was the commonwealth games £140 per night..Overall ok but rooms are very small and general reception area a bit
dated. Breakfast was ok but please...use decent bread for the toast !!!!
We chose Falkirk because with the train was within striking distance of Glasgow and Edinburgh...whether we use it again would depend on the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH LANARKSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I attended a wedding at this hotel yesterday and to say that the whole day was like a fairy tale would not be over the top.
The staff were welcoming and very friendly , the toilets were spotless and the whole place had a nice clean feel about it.
The wedding room was a well laid out and very happy place.
When we went in for the meal after all the photo's had been taken etc., the food was the best we have tasted at a wedding in a long time.
I would say to anyone in the area to check out this hotel not only for a wedding but for the food as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRYCE09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This title says it all. We have stayed in many hotels and written many reviews. This was not a cheap hotel by any standards and we have been in better quality for less!!!!
We overheard the receptionist talking to a customer on the telephone who wanted to speak to the manager who apparently is in Florida and has been so for the past 10 years hence the demise of what could be a great place.
Things that cannot be changed
1. Size of rooms very small but adequate but don't charge top whack
2. Helpfulness of main reception staff. Very friendly polite and dealt with a a smelly toilet issue immediately
3. Accessibility we used it as a base for the commonwealth games
THINGS THAT NEED TO CHANGE
1. Cleanliness of rooms dust, badly cleaned bathrooms
2. Decoration is old and tired and ready for a refurb
3. Lounge area looks ok on the surface but don't sit on the settees for too long they smell dirty!!!
4. Lift smells of old stale cigarettes, probably from the days when smoking was allowed.
5. Buffet breakfast not top quality as the bacon, sausages etc had been cooked for some time and were not the best quality. Not made clear that you needed to order fried or poached eggs to go with your cooked breakfast by the staff.
6. Very young staff in the breakfast area who seemed to have had little guidance or training on how to serve and look after the residents. They needed to dress smartly and look like they were happy to be there. I do not blame these young people it is clear that they need a manager who does not live in Florida.

Most definitely not a BEST WESTERN. We paid a premium for these rooms £280. One week after the games the would have been £160 which makes it an even bitter pill to swallow.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Falkirk hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel was a base for my husband and I for the Commonwealth Games Glasgow 2014. On arrival the lady on reception was pleasant and polite and dealt with our arrival well. Our room was on the 3rd floor and quite small for 2. The bathroom was small with a shower/bath. The shower was quite powerful but did not want to work when asked to emit cooler water. (The weather was very hot and a cool shower was what was required)..The bath filled quickly so that was a blessing. There was the usual tea/coffee making facilities but we had to ask for more sugar and milk as there was very little in the room. The television did not work on the remote which was a pain but not that bad. My main complaint was the food. Many people think it is really good. It is not! The restaurant staff are slow and on our first night we ordered wine which did not appear until after we had eaten our first course. The menu is £10 for 3 courses but the standard of food is poor - average. Portion sizes are good but the menu doesn't appear to change and when it did on the Sunday evening there was no roast beef available, although it was on the menu and we were only told it was not available when the waiter came to take our order which meant a quick change of order and when it arrived it was not really that good. Breakfast was average at best. You sat where you wanted and then tea/coffee and toast were brought to the table. The rest was buffet style. You had to order fried, poached and boiled eggs and anything from the alternative menu but the hot food, haggis, sausage, mushrooms etc were kept in a covered tin which had a gas light underneath to keep it hot, however, the food was often cold/cool. I like my food hot so I was not that pleased. Plates were cold, there was not a plate warmer which would have been better. There were the usual cereals and some prepared fruit, but the fruit juice was not chilled and again this could easily be done which would have been nice. The staff are quite frugal when making the tea, only 1 tea bag per medium sized pot which meant weak tea!
This hotel obviously has regular customers which adore the staff and think the food is tasty and value for money. I think it was a very average hotel, good as a base but quite noisy as it is popular for parties and weddings. From our room you could also hear the lift on a regular basis. There is no air con just a tiny fan which does nothing to cool the room. We had to sleep with the window wide open and one curtain open to get any sleep at all. There is a lounge area adjacent to the bar/restaurant/reception which was used quite a lot. The car park gets full quite quickly but there is an additional one just up the side of the hotel so no problem. There are 2 disabled parking bays in the main car park and 3 steps or a ramp to the front door, there is also a lift to rooms if required.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want a quieter stay, however the view is a car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Good standard of hotel for the money. However the evening meal was outstanding a 3 corse meal for £10 sounds good but is even better when all three courses were good both in size of portion, flavour and presentation. The size of the room was small for a double which it was. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on a business trip, I travel all over the UK as a lady on my own
I could not fault this place , very friendly receptionist who quickly provided me with a fan for my room as a very warm evening.
Bed was comfortable and room nice and clean.
The food was amazing , great choice , very tasty and the best bit for me , you could order off the whole menu for room service - 3 course for £10!
Tray charge reasonable at £3.50
Didn't try the breakfast as I was still full from the night before -:)
I believe the menu changes daily as it had the date on the top.
Another plus was "proper" toiletries rather than the on the wall cheapo versions .
Thank you it was a real pleasure all round

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MazandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falkirk
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk North Hotel
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Falkirk Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cladhan
Hotel Cladhan
#5 of 9 in Falkirk
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antonine Hotel
Antonine Hotel
#8 of 9 in Falkirk
108 reviews
3.4 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Park Hotel
Address: Camelon Road, Falkirk FK1 5RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Falkirk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Falkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkirk Best Western
Best Western Falkirk
Best Western Park Hotel Falkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing