We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad Considering How Cheap It Is.”
Review of Metro Inns Falkirk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Metro Inns Falkirk
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Falkirk
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I'm going to write two reviews for this property as I've stayed 3 times in 2 types of room.

This is for the 1st stay. "STANDARD ROOM".

Firstly, the staff are lovely and friendly. There are dogs - but this is a bonus for us. Nice dogs.

The kitchen is clean, has everything you need to make a dinner and cannot be faulted. It has saved us a fortune as we can cook and eat there.

As for the rooms, honestly, I imagine there are prison cells nicer than the standard room and as for the toilets and showers - well, they were clean. But not exactly homely.

However, it is £25 a night and 3 people can stay for that. £25!!! You can't complain at that price really. Although I would expect it to be classed as a hostel rather than the rather grand and misleading description of "Hotel"!

Also - the double bed was amazingly comfortable. We didn't try out the bunk as our little boy is still in his travel cot (which barely fits in the room - but it does fit at a squeeze.)

It was certainly alright. You get what you pay for and if I'm honest, we got a bit more. I've stayed in places not much better for more than twice the price. Which is why we went back and will continue to go back.

Room Tip: If you can afford an extra tenner per night go for an en suite room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyFrennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Good location for Falkirk, if you have a car, but hard to find, even with a satnav -could do with a sign from the main road, which it was actually just off. Basically it's right next to the Falkirk Travelodge.
The staff were enthusiastic and very friendly and we LOVED the fully equipped kitchen wehere you could cook a meal just as you can in a hostel. There were several microwaves, kettles, fridges and cookers and the place was very busy. We opted for the very basic room, the cheapest available as we were only there one night and it was adequate. The 'self-clean' toilet cubicles down the hall were unnervingly cramped and plastic (think National Express coach toilets) and the fact they self cleaned the cubicle after each visitor meant the floors were always wet. On the plus side at least you knew it WAS just clean water they were wet with!
The big plus here was the free wi-fi, definitely a draw considering the room price -we paid £25 for the room for one night and it could have slept 3 people.
Would definitely use Metro-Inns again as we are very budget conscious travellers.

Room Tip: Might be worth paying the extra tenner to get an ensuite of you are there more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redcat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely filthy, feet stick to the carpets and whole place smells damp and stale. Wouldn't reconnect this place to my worst enemy, save yourself the disappointment and try somewhere else. Whoever owns this place should be ashamed, get your act together and get the place refurbished.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Lovemygrub888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the metro inn falkirk last weekend. I was expecting it to basic but I didn't expect to see the state the rooms are in, I had a standard room without a bathroom, there was damp up the walls and the carpets were shocking, the whole place had an unpleasant smell, the toilets were unclean and most had no seat, the room had no working heater. Better spending the extra and booking to the travelodge next door!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Elofty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

staff very friendly, couldn't do enough for us,only thing was the carpet in room needed cleaned .would return. I'm from Falkirk and returned for a pals party in area ,so taxis are plenty you can take your own food & cook yourself , or go too restaurant next door

Room Tip: Had room downstairs too the back, found it quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Badly signposted, so you waste time & money fining the property.
Hotel is filthy, including dogs running around.
Staff have a poor attitude & are more interested in smoking with their friends than dealing with customers.
No drink making facilities.
Customer unfriendly notices around property, & stupid high deposit for a tv remote control that did not work.

With good, customer focused management, new signposting and a deep clean this could, and should, be a good budget hotel catering for overnight stops. Sadly that isn't the case at present & this ex formula1 hotel is not recommended,and is, at current rates, dreadful
value.

If it was possible to give a zero mark for each category I would have.

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PDPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel is ideal for a one night stop over. No frills but clean with friendly staff.. ideal if travelling on. Close to motorway. Dogs allowed in rooms. all for £25. Dont expect luxury. This has the basic needs- a bed, a telly and a sink. What more do you want? massive car park- got it.

Room Tip: near entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grizz372387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falkirk
0 mi away
Travelodge Falkirk Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk East Hotel
2.2 mi away
Antonine Hotel
Antonine Hotel
#8 of 9 in Falkirk
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk North Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Cladhan
Hotel Cladhan
#3 of 9 in Falkirk
257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#3 of 4 in Grangemouth
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Inns Falkirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Inns Falkirk

Address: Bean Cross Farm, Falkirk FK2 0XS, Scotland (Formerly Formule 1 Falkirk)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Falkirk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Falkirk
Price Range: £24 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metro Inns Falkirk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metro Inns Falkirk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Inns Falkirk Hotel Falkirk
Metro Hotel Falkirk
Metro Inns Falkirk Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing