We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT MEAL”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falkirk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Graeme Hotel Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Falkirk
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Went for xmas lunch with workmates what a great meal,soup hot with crusry bread,main course turkey 3 big fat slices moist and tasty perfect roasties three chippolatas and veggies great value for money would recomend it and we will visit again.Please note we did not stay over this was only for a meal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smellyoldron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

We have checked in - thankfully only for a single night - and I can honestly say I haven't seen anything like this EVER! The staff were kind, polite and helpful. Its all downhill from here.

On arrival, we were shown to our room (#7 which also happens to be the fire exit room for the top floor). We were amazed at the condition of the room ( according to the hotel's website all rooms have been refurbished - simply not true of Room 7!!!); there is no fresh air unless the fire escape door is opened to the stairs; there is no airconditioning or fan; its stuffy; the free standing wardrobe has a backplate that swings freely thus not instilling any confidence in unpacking; there is a strong smell of antiseptic on the second floor; there are at least 6 bags of dirty washing stacked on the landing at the head of the staircase; the bed has no bedskirt to hide the mattress or its legs; the carpet is split at the seams and is stained; there is only a blind covering the window; there is no decoration on the walls; the ceiling has evidence of damp causing its wallpaper to separate ... and then there's the bathroom, which is a little grubby. Mmm, a big mistake has been made by booking into The Graeme Hotel in Falkirk. Lord only knows what experiences tomorrow's breakfast will bring.

This establishment is not representive of its website. Take my suggestion and look elsewhere. I generally check Trip Advisor before booking anything personally untested and cannot believe that I overlooked doing so for this booking. As I said at the beginning, thankfully we are only staying here for 1 night.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fi_56_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The bar meal from the Graeme hotel is fantastic and superb value for money, were planning a Saturday of eating and drinking there soon!

2 courses for six quid at lunchtime had me doubting but I was very surprised at how good it was.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERTANTHONY223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We where enticed in by the very big sign outside advertising Speciality roasts every sunday.Inside on the wall another big sign saying the same.I asked the waitress if the roasts where available as they where not on the menu i got a very blunt NO !! No no explanation as to why she just went off.
All of the food was luke warm thoughout the meal The soup consisted of four lumps of turnip , around six slices of carrot and so much boiled rice the spoon actually stood up in it. The stock cube /paste was so strong it was overpowering.The steak pie was stewed meat thickened with too much bisto or gravy granules it was just gloopy.On top of it was a piece of pastry which had been in the oven too long.This is the Graeme hotels definition of a pie. It should be arrested by the food police and charged with impersonating a pie !!!!!!. It was served on a rather big plate with three new potatoes,one piece of cauliflower and a spoonful of carrot slices ( same ones in the soup).The breaded fish was very over fried it looked like a piece of cardboard.It was served with a very unusual interpretation of coleslaw, warm,dry ( lack of mayonnaise ) and tasteless.The ginger cake was served ( the plate was way too big to serve the desserts on) cold and the tinned or carton custard dolloped on the top of it.It was very claggy and stuck to your teeth.The apple pie claimed on the menu to be served with ice cream, it arrived with cream ( to be fair it might have been ice cream but we waited so long for it it could have melted ).I did complain to the waiter but it fell on deaf ears. If they are going to offer these three courses for £10.00 menus,then they need to take pride in what and how they serve them.Just because they are cheap it doesnt mean they have to be nasty.The sunday roast sign has to come down .They are advertising a product they do not sell !!!!!.I would say AVIOD !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Pearl Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a week whilst on business, in a double room on the top floor to the rear of the building. I was surprised there was no double glazing, so there was alot of outside noise.
Room was ok, decent size but fairly grubby. Paint was peeling in the bathroom, paper peeling of the ceiling in the main room, excess wires hanging from lights. Tv didn't work properly, I was told it would be fixed but it never got done.
Stains on bee sheets, duvet was awful. All the stuffing was in the corners the rest was just sheets.
Although this is a budget hotel I expected more

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leopardstars29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Waited for too long to be served despite the restaurant being quiet. Out of two meals, one wrong order and the other had cold stew and hard cold vegetables. Not impressed with the service either, staff not attentive. Ladies toilet door was very grubby and the toilet seat broken. This restaurant needs a lot of work to bring it up to its former standard.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JemJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

my wife and i were made very welcome by the friendly staff, room was basic and a bit dated but clean and food was excellent and prices very reasonable ,would highly recommend a stay here and i certainly would come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falkirk
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cladhan
Hotel Cladhan
#3 of 9 in Falkirk
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
1.6 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antonine Hotel
Antonine Hotel
#8 of 9 in Falkirk
112 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Falkirk Hotel
2.5 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Graeme Hotel Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Graeme Hotel Bar & Restaurant

Address: 40/42 Grahams Road, Falkirk FK1 1HR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Falkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Falkirk
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Graeme Hotel Falkirk
The Graeme Hotel Bar & Restaurant Falkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing