We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Graeme Hotel Bar & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Falkirk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Graeme Hotel Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Falkirk
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lunch break, very average pub grub on sale here.

Had the mushrooms in batter over cooked and rather greasy

The battered fish was also overdone with a small portion of fish inside that was also very greasy.
Chips also overdone.

Partner had soup and sandwich deal, soup was over salted and sandwiches were good.

Good friendly staff which gives them an average mark but beware anything that requires to be deep fried.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fawkirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    20
    12
    9
    17
See reviews for
15
20
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Romford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Needed a room in Falkirk for the Rod Stewart Concert... think we booked the last available one, and were aware that the room had three single beds in, when we wanted a double, but took it out of desperation. What they failed to tell us was that this room shared a bathroom with the 5 other rooms on the top floor , basically nothing better than a hostel, but they charged £90. Had no choice but to take it, but it was very poor for the money. The shared bathroom had a stained toilet seat, and a very poor shower.

As other reviews have mentioned check in was dysfunctional, we were made to feel in the way of the meal service and there was very little welcome. Luckily we spent very little time in the room, but the whole bathroom thing was unpleasant.

However the staff the next morning were so nice it changed our impression of the hotel. couldn't do enough for us, printed out our boarding passes and served us breakfast even though we were very late. perhaps other rooms are better here, but avoid anything on the top floor unless you want to queue for the bathroom and pay a fortune for the privilege.

Room Tip: Don't have a room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Falkirk hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
falkirk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Food of extremely poor quality.
Wrong orders arrived and food only Luke warm with no apology. Bar maid had trainer type shoe off her foot up on the bar showing her colleagues then slipped it back in her foot and immediately started serving drinks!! No hands washed!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank sharp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I have eaten here on a few occasions, great value for money menu, staff friendly. So decided to try the breakfast, big disappointment, staff quick at taking order but had to wait about 40 minutes for food, myself and husband were the only two in, l was ready for walking out when the food came. I actually asked waitress if they had forgotten about us. The breakfast itself was a let down, fried egg was hard, bacon was like cardboard and the black pudding was the end of roll, so it all went back, then it was another wait for about 15 minutes.
Breakfast is not value for money and the service is very poor.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mariOn5926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

as we had used this hotel on many occasions before the refit, we were pleased to see it re-opened. What a let down.........menu has reverted back to standard menu (no set price for 2/3 course) which was fine. One of us ordered the suasage and mash, asking for just a small amount of gravy, it came with the sausages nearly floating in the gravy ! however tasted ok. One ordered the gammon steak, what a cheek it was a thick slice of bacon, as for the veg...wait for it...a lump of crusted mushy peas????!!! Wow, how impressed were we. Should have been prepared when we got a steak knife, (not a good sign at all.) It must have been to help cut through the grissle. There are too many nice places to pick from, with much better food. If this hotel does not sort out these issues they would be as well not doing luches at all. Over all a very disappointing outing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shazFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Graeme hotel for 2 night stay weekend with my partner... the room was lovely plenty room nice and spacious I don't understand these bad reviews the room are far from bar very clean tidy and well laid out.

We had dinner in the restaurant where the food was exceptional, I can highly recommend the TEX MEX Menu I will 100% be coming back her to stay again in the near future!!!

Breakfast was great no complaints choice of cereals, fresh orange juice, tea, coffee, toast and full Scottish or which ever you request...

All in All I highly recommend this hotel....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirlingshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Went to Graeme Hotel last Wednesday for lunch and was not impressed with new menu
We asked for half portions as my friends cannot eat large meals \
if you like chips yes they were very good and plentiful but the actual main on the whole was
very sparse I would say a couple of tablespoons would have covered the portion of lasagne we got - not even good - reluctantly going back this Wednesday with other friends and I will try the normal portion this time - no set price for two or three courses so beware as they do not have a copy of their menu on the internet
I asked for a copy to be sent out to me but alas it has never arrived
Going with an open mind so hope better this week but too many good places serving set menus at reasonable prices

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StirlingshireDod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falkirk
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Park Hotel
#4 of 10 in Falkirk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cladhan
Hotel Cladhan
#5 of 10 in Falkirk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antonine Hotel
Antonine Hotel
#9 of 10 in Falkirk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk North Hotel
1.7 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Graeme Hotel Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Graeme Hotel Bar & Restaurant

Property: The Graeme Hotel Bar & Restaurant
Address: 40/42 Grahams Road, Falkirk FK1 1HR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Falkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Falkirk
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Graeme Hotel Falkirk
The Graeme Hotel Bar & Restaurant Falkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing