We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay”
Review of Hotel Cladhan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cladhan
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Falkirk
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed two nights on business in early October. When you first arrive, the hotel looks a tad shoddy from the outside and makes you wonder what to expect. However, it's a different story inside. A pleasant atmosphere with friendly, pleasant, helpful staff throughout the whole hotel. Checked in with no problems at all and my single room was more than adequate. Perfectly clean and tidy (and being a 'trip advsior' you do look) and very warm (which was a relief as I witnessed my first, albeit light, frost of the year). My only moan would be that the floor boards must be very thin (or getting old) as anytime anyone walked down the corridor it did sound like a herd of wildabeast! Ate in the restuarant both nights and they do a three course meal for £10. Really good choices and good quality food. One tip, ask for space between starter and main as they are a bit keen to bring out the main almost as soon as you've finshed the starter. Equally good breakfast which is available from 6.30am which was ideal as on my departure day the Hotel obliged with bacon sandwiches to take away as I was needing to leave early. All in all a top stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    90
    42
    19
    16
See reviews for
55
78
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Overall our stay was comfortable however the standard to which the room was cleaned was not at all good, there were hairs in the bath, white marks all over the bathroom floor, the bath mat looked as though it had already been used by previous guests, the mugs offered in the tea tray along with the ONE glass for water in the bathroom were both filthy and had lip marks on them. Having previously worked in housekeeping i am very aware of the standard to which a room should be cleaned and i am sorry to say this standard was not at all met. The carpet was also falling away at the edge of the window sill, not that this was an issue with me but if a small child were to be playing near there it could prove dangerous. Another thing was when we checked in we were told we had to be checked out by 12 noon however the housemaid came into our room to "clean" it at 11.30am and told us infact check out was 11am. Very disappointed and would recommend retraining housekeeping staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starstruck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Falkirk hotels

Langho, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I must admit then when I drew up , the hotel looked a bit shoddy and there were loads of people around attending a wedding I think. However as soon as I stepped through the doors I was checkied in efficiently and shown to my room, which was very clean, Stylish and comfortable. I was told that breakfaxt was from 6.30 - a great help as some hotels don't start before 8 at weekends and I had a judging appointment to get to. I had a good nights sleep and couldn't hear any noise at all from the functions. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We booked the family room as our party consisted of two adults and two teens. The family room was very roomy (actually was divided into two bedrooms). The staff was quite friendly and the hotel was very clean. We had an extremely affordable and good meal in the restaurant, although there are a lot of eating establishments within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This place is nothing fancy, but its pretty alright. £10 per person for a 3 course meal is very good value (but they get you back on the price of the beer) but go into town if you want something a bit more. The room was very pleasant, backed onto the kitchen fan that was a little noisy, but not end of the world. Nice people in the hotel. If you want a premier Inn, but want to be in town, go here.

Room Tip: get a room on the front of the hotel (odd numbers I think) you wont get the noise of the kitchen fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tugboatchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed there this month while attending a wedding and I cannot fault the place. Staff were friendly and attentive. The rooms were modernly decorated and very clean as was the rest of the hotel.
The wedding was perfect thanks to the staff !!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgstir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I took a group of 30 kids and 5 adults to central Scotland and upon the advice of our tour operator, stayed in the Cladhan. Absolutely first class. Nice comfortable rooms, good bedding and every single effort was made to make your stay perfect.
I have slected 'average' for sleep quality re. the point below and 'very good' for both cleanliness and location. Inside the hotel was spotless but just the car park etc was a wee bit shabby, if that bothers you. Also, it is situated in a pretty grotty part of town - though it seems very safe and secure - just visually not that hot.

Room Tip: One tiny thing, the rooms numbered 20 - 22 were above the kitchen and got very hot with some of my g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diveforcover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falkirk
0.7 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Falkirk Hotel
0.2 mi away
Antonine Hotel
Antonine Hotel
#8 of 9 in Falkirk
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk North Hotel
1.8 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
539 reviews
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cladhan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cladhan

Property: Hotel Cladhan
Address: Kemper Avenue, Falkirk FK1 1UF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Falkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Falkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cladhan 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cladhan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cladhan Hotel Falkirk
Hotel Cladhan Falkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing