We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cladhan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cladhan
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Falkirk
Langholm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here in January for the wedding anniversary of a couple of family friends and although it looks quite dated and plain on the outside, the inside is clean, neat and stylish. The staff were also all very polite, helpful and friendly throughout the stay.

The restaurant where we met the rest of our family for a meal had a lovely quiet atmosphere that I can imagine would be perfect for a romantic meal. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced as we took advantage of a 3 course meal for £10 offer.

The room was basic but clean and the bed was comfortable. The only couple of negative points I could think of are that there wasn't any soap for hand washing so we had to use one of the little shower gels and while the lighting wasn't very good in the main room, there were blinding lights around the mirror in the bathroom which couldn't be turned off. This made getting ready difficult and extremely frustrating.

The hall in which the party was held was big with plenty of room to dance and also plenty of tables to sit down. The buffet food was nice and the bar wasn't too expensive.

The breakfast the next morning was in a different restaurant which was also clean and had a nice atmosphere. Unfortunately the food was nice but was all very greasy.

If they bring down the price of the rooms, I would definitely consider staying here again. I just think that it was quite expensive for one night in what was a very basic room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyrithys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    81
    40
    19
    15
See reviews for
50
69
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed here for the Wales v Scotland game march 2013. Very clean, good breakfast (very little left on the first morning, but was better on the second). Great location so close to the town and train stations. Comfortable bed. Will be staying again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Am a carer for my gran&grandad and decieded to have a wee 1 night break away as we live local in kilsyth ;) my grandad doesnt get out to often as hes older and a few medical problems anyway i found this hotel online as i had been searching 4 local but not to local nd not to far away .....from the mintue i called to book 1 night 4 3 of us i could not have felt any more at ease the girl i spoke to to book was very helpful ....when i arrived the staff made us feel very welcomed they lifted grandad wheelchair up the stairs as they dont have a lift yeah a lift would b good .......... Staff here at cladhan r so so nice helpful and well mannered thanks 4 a warm recpection and ur manager/owner must b very proud of you all so cheery so helpful ;-) thanks to each one of u ....... Miss c

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celticas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Have stayed here many many times over the last 4 years and the first thing I have to say is that its gone up from £59 per night to £80 per night during that time (the new Dakota 4 star posh place is only £86) for what reason im not sure as its certainly gone down hill. The plus side of the hotel is that the staff are first class, so nice and will do anything for you. The food is FANTASTIC, £10 for a three course home cooked meal, amazing value. The downside is the rooms are not cleaned to a high standard anymore, the attention to small details that need fixing is just not there and it places the hotel itself is in a state of disrepair.

I visit Falkirk probably 10 times a year, will I be going back to the Cladhan.... im just not sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyfyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Booked a meal for 2 Adults and two children for Pre-Theatre treat for our grandchildren. .

Service was prompt and the staff VERY pleasant.

And at £10.00 for the adults and £5.00 for the children for a three course meal you can't go wrong.

Varied selection on the menu. Good size portions.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Booked the Cladhan at short notice for a family gathering at Falkirk. All the staff at the hotel were extremely helpful. Room was clean, spacious and well equipped but let down by a lack of attention to routine minor maintenance; fixing of bath screen, extractor fan not working, some mould stains etc. Dinner in the restaurant was a fixed price 3 course menu. While not particularly special, it was fine for what we wanted and provided very good value. The overall experience was just right for the occasion, with plenty of room in the bar area to wait for the other guests. Service was excellent, attentive, quick but without being rushed.
Recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Figary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed two nights on business in early October. When you first arrive, the hotel looks a tad shoddy from the outside and makes you wonder what to expect. However, it's a different story inside. A pleasant atmosphere with friendly, pleasant, helpful staff throughout the whole hotel. Checked in with no problems at all and my single room was more than adequate. Perfectly clean and tidy (and being a 'trip advsior' you do look) and very warm (which was a relief as I witnessed my first, albeit light, frost of the year). My only moan would be that the floor boards must be very thin (or getting old) as anytime anyone walked down the corridor it did sound like a herd of wildabeast! Ate in the restuarant both nights and they do a three course meal for £10. Really good choices and good quality food. One tip, ask for space between starter and main as they are a bit keen to bring out the main almost as soon as you've finshed the starter. Equally good breakfast which is available from 6.30am which was ideal as on my departure day the Hotel obliged with bacon sandwiches to take away as I was needing to leave early. All in all a top stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falkirk
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Park Hotel
#4 of 10 in Falkirk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antonine Hotel
Antonine Hotel
#9 of 10 in Falkirk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk North Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cladhan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cladhan

Property: Hotel Cladhan
Address: Kemper Avenue, Falkirk FK1 1UF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Falkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Falkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cladhan 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cladhan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cladhan Hotel Falkirk
Hotel Cladhan Falkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing