We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day out”

The Kelpies & The Helix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Helix covers over 350 hectares of green space between Falkirk and Grangemouth. The Helix includes The Kelpies, the world's largest equine statues and from Summer 2014, a waterside cafe, lagoon and adventure play zone. The jewel in The Helix project is The Kelpies - Standing at 30 metres tall and weighing over 300 tonnes each. To get up close and persoanl with The Kelpies our tours let you get inside the magnificient structures and guided tour tickets are available now at our website. The Kelpie visitor centre will also open to the public complete with eatery and gift shop following this...
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Fantastic day out and peaceful place to spend an afternoon. Kids loved the swimming, but came out a little brown. Couldn't find the milk bar but there was a shop where you can get ice cream and a drink. Well laid out park with plenty of room .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chriss H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,556
    652
    119
    42
    25
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Cheap Day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Wonderful morning - work is still going on to build visitor centre etc but it will become an iconic place to visit. Enjoyed the boat trip on the canal too - a nice innovation

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FoxtrotFilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk, scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Tourist attraction but take a picnic, catering is awful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The pictures of the magnificent kelpies speak for themselves. The helix park, lagoon and playparks are brilliant, very busy on good days. The only thing I would say that let's it down are the catering vans at the kelpies themselves, simply awful! Definitely take a picnic. Overpriced and disgusting quality food. I had a sizzling steak baguette. Dry baguette, with chewy steak in a horrible salty gravy, not what I expect when I order a steak sandwich. Roll ended up soggy and messy to eat, and only 1 bin in sight. Hot drinks are a rip off also, and I heard a man being refused 2 cups for a bottle of juice so he could share between his grandchildren and was told that the cups are counted, that was how they calculated sales!! Never heard so much guff in my life.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marley80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NIGHTMARE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My own faullt really as we went too late in the day.We travelled through Falkirk and were greeted by a massive tail back at tempory traffic lights at the Dennis factory where NOONE was doing any work,the only consolation is that the queue was worse going the other way.

The signage for car parks and indeed to the location is very very poor and the car parks are so small you can just tell the eco greenies dont want you driving there,we are all to cycle.

We didnt even stop but had a 10 second glaance before doing a u turn then headed home,via the motorway,which actually provides an excellent if somewhat short view of these impressive if totally pointless remeinder that we dont really make anything anymore.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TCTOPCAT23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Days like this can really stirrup the emotions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Decided to visit the Kelpies on Sunday 12th July. I had previously visited after they first opened to the public but decided to do the tour this time. We booked the 1pm tour for £5 each. Our tour guide Steve was very good, really knew his stuff. The tour started with stops at the various view points leading up to the Kelpies, before being allowed inside. Well, what can I say - they are impressive from the outside but the space in side was surprising. All the intricate detail (imagine a huge metal spiderweb about 100 foot above you), it was clear that a lot of thought had gone into the design.

After the tour concluded we took a few photos and left. I noticed there was a separate tour that took you on a boat past them but we didn't bother with this. The only criticism I have is that parking can be limited (we had to drive round a few times until we found a space) but eventually got parked (which was free). There is a burger van on site (not that we bought anything but prices looked about normal).

All in all, a good day out with the sun shining. Would definitely take friends/family back to view again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kelpies & The Helix also viewed

Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 
Falkirk, Falkirk District
Falkirk, Falkirk District
 

Been to The Kelpies & The Helix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing