We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good points, some bad”
Review of Antonine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Antonine Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Falkirk
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I attended my daughter’s wedding at the Antonine Hotel in August 2012, and it had both good and bad points. I know this is a lengthy review, but I feel both good and bad points need to be highlighted.

John and Elizabeth (the owners) were extremely helpful during the planning stages, and bent over backwards to accommodate the requests, including allowing access to the service lift for disabled guests and providing some materials to help decorate the hall for the reception. Set-up for the daytime reception with large round tables was ideal. The bride negotiated a custom package price, which was reasonable, and allegedly included a double room for the bride and groom BUT: although this was confirmed by a phone call to the owner (Elizabeth) 3 weeks before the wedding; they were charged as they left, £60 for a room that was essentially shabby, stuffy and sub-standard - the charge didn’t even include breakfast! If they had known they would be charged, they would have got a taxi home instead, for much less money!

The evening reception room was meant to seat 80; we struggled to get 50 in, with the tables so close together there wasn’t room to breathe, and nobody bigger than a size 10 could sit on the inside seats! The ‘overspill’ guests had to sit in the bar next door, which was very nice, cosy and intimate with a giant fan to keep the air circulating (it was very hot). There was a larger reception room upstairs which would have been ideal for us but there was a staff party booked which only around 30 people seemed to attend; it would have made more business sense to move the staff party (lower priority) to the smaller room and give the wedding party the larger of the rooms.

The bar was well stocked with spirits and bottled beer, and prices were commensurate with other hotels in the area, but it did not stock any draft beer or lager which was not communicated to us in advance, so many of the guests had to go downstairs to the rather rough bar to get their drinks. Due to the many stairs involved several of the guests had difficulty transporting their drinks back up to the wedding reception. At 11pm the guests were told they couldn’t take any more drinks upstairs and they had to either drink them in the bar, or do without draft beer. We found out later that there was another bar upstairs where staff could have got access to draft beer, but we were never told about this.

Although comfortable, the seats were mismatched, with a selection of blue, red and (bizarrely) zebra striped patterns! We didn’t have chair covers, only bows for the chair backs, so the different colours/patterns were obvious and the zebra striped chairs weren’t shown to us in advance, they just appeared on the day.

The food was lovely both daytime and evening, very well prepared and presented, plenty of it to go around, and the offer of more if required. Catering staff provided for all dietary needs, including diabetic, coeliac and vegetarian; there was plenty of choice for all.

All of the staff were friendly, helpful and pleasant; the catering staff in particular made a good impression by coming out and speaking to the organisers to make sure they were happy with everything, and to find out if there was anything else they could do. Bar staff were friendly and efficient, even when the queue at the bar was 3-4 deep.

The deejay was fantastic, good music and read his audience well; the dance floor was never empty and he kept the party going well into the night. Unfortunately, halfway through the night, the fire alarm went off – apparently this was caused by a smoke machine in operation downstairs in the bar. This was a bit of a mood killer, and using a smoke machine that would set off the alarm was a bit of stupid.

All in all, I would say that the Antonine Hotel could be a good wedding venue if they could iron out some of their issues; however I would advise that you get everything in writing from them, details of what is included in the price, so there are no misunderstandings. Also, there is NO WAY that the small back reception room can seat 80, unless you have no dance-floor. This is a tight squeeze for 50 people; it would have been more sensible to give us the bigger room which was reserved for a poorly-attended staff party. If we’d had the bigger room, we would definitely return to this venue; as it stands, we will probably not use it again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mizliz_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

Went to a wedding in here .. disgusting the staff were very rude the food was cold and the hall also was cold and very dirty looking , cheap package but if definatley tells in the customer service and also the place as a whole .. would not go back in this place if you paid me !!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

stop at the Antonine most weeks working round Scotland doing removals for JLF. Hotel rooms excellent very comfy and clean. Soft towels great shower facilities. Food is homemade and varied no faults so far. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I am from Bridgend South Wales & I work in the petrchemical industry & carry out regular maintenance works at the Grangemouth Refinery. I have been staying here for the last 3 years weather I am on site attending meetings (daily appointments) or on a shutdown with a duration of approx 3 weeks each time where at this point I have an avearage of 24 men on the job & we all stay at the Antonine hotel. Not one single employee have ever complained to myself or the hotels staff about anu issues with the hotel if anything it is all praise - example (Excellent loaction, Owners John & Liz cant do enough for you, bar staff Kev, Ross etc excellent with the customers, Cheep pints, Excellent food, Clean warm rooms, recently decorated to a verry high standard. all this for a price of 35pounds per night, cant fault it.I will continue using this hotel & will recommend anyone staying in the Falkirk area to stay at the Antonine weather it a short stay or long stay this is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel recently for a family wedding and I was fairly disappointed. Rate was about the same as a Premier Inn and I always think thats a decent standard of budget hotel to compare to.
Reception had a smell of wet dog when I was checking in and no wonder, a wet dog behind the reception desk. The room was a fair distance from the reception and this was due to what had been the front door being closed up and now using the back door. The room had a stale smell to it and was very basic. Mattresses need to be renewed as very uncomfortable, even after a few drinks. A used towel from the previous occupant and stained sheets where enough to put the final nail in and let us decide we would not be staying again. It would appear that breakfast finished very early in the morning also, far earlier than was stated on the room cards. 7am finish fro breakfast was a bit of a joke.

Qaulity of food served was fairly poor at the event.

All in all, not a great place to stay, wish I had opted for the short taxi ride to the Prem Inn just a couple of miles away.

Room Tip: Use another hotel not too far away. No residents bar, poor rooms, no reason to stay here unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

The complaint here is wrong in various ways firstly they did not pay for the room it was part of the wedding package they booked £650.00 for a sit down meal for 30 evening buffet for 120 disco and room for the night. We have done countless of these and had nothing but praise we even get invited to the reception, if the bedding and towels were dirty why not say. As for breakfast it is on all our literature that it is 7.00am till 9.00am and we did 24 breakfasts on this day, why do people have to make things up and we think tripadvisor should not permitt people to post lies on this site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a week with my partner and found the owners and staff very accomodating, anything they could provide they did their utmost. Bar prices were great! £1.95 a pint and £1.40 for a vodka, what more could you ask for? Food was excellent and well priced. rooms appear to be newly decorated. fresh and clean. with a well stocked tea and coffee tray. Well located in the town centre with all shops close by. will definetly stay here again on our next visit to falkirk.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetmc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel earlier this year and for the price it is excellent value, rooms were clean and tidy plus the staff were very friendly and helpfull. Will definately be back when staying in falkirk

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazo0483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falkirk
0.5 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Falkirk Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cladhan
Hotel Cladhan
#3 of 9 in Falkirk
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk North Hotel
2.9 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antonine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antonine Hotel

Address: 1 Manor Street, Falkirk FK1 1NT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Falkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Falkirk
Price Range: £43 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antonine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Antonine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antonine Hotel Falkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing