We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here as a last choice...very last!”
Review of Antonine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Antonine Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Falkirk
Philadelphia, PA, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay here as a last choice...very last!”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Terrible services, and then John and Elizabeth blamed US because we were TOO demanding. I have stayed in a lot of hotels, and basic cleanliness has never before been labeled "too demanding." John was going to throw 52 travelers out into the street because his wife was stressed. If I hadn't been part of a group, I WOULD HAVE LEFT MYSELF.

In other reviews, John and Elizabeth also seem to tell people over several years that they just bought the hotel and are working to bring it up to standard. Old reviews say the same thing. Red flag.

Face it, this is a cheap hotel, with crappy service. If you want cheap, and can accept crappy, then stay here. Drink a half-dozen Guinnesses, and you won't even know.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mykeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    19
    8
    18
    35
See reviews for
21
23
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Let me start out with saying that Elizabeth was a wonderful, caring woman to deal with. She helped us find a pub to ring in the New Year, was very welcoming and friendly and slipped us a space heater when our room was found to be too cold. We were informed that the furnace was having trouble since we were in the coldest winter in 40 years. That being said, the radiator seemed rather useless to heat our room, so if you stay in the winter don't plan to remove much of your clothing when you go to sleep. Again, there was the pitcher for boiling water for tea and coffee which was located in a tray in the room. The curtains were nice and pretty but proved ineffective to block out the cold. There is a bar, both in the dining room and a full bar downstairs which is accessible from the street. The food was edible, having had their breakfasts and one of their dinners as well. Try the raspberry jam...it's delightful. Elisabeth will see to anything you need, and can be seen clearing away the dishes when you have breakfasted. The bathroom in my room was frigid beyond belief, and there often was no hot water to be had except from the little water pitcher for tea. The heater did, in fact, go out while we were there and it still is not clear whether we will ever see any of our money back from that. Falkirk is a delightful little town with the friendliest and helpful people you will ever meet.

Stayed January 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank g1as5hous3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Falkirk hotels

Atl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

When we arrived I thought "This isn't bad" since we were with a large group and staying in low budget hotels in the UK. In all my travels the Antonine Hotel turned out to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed.

Accommodations: The bathroom floor was filthy, the bottom of the shower curtain was covered in mildew, the showers heads had thick black grime, and beds did not have a top sheet or blanket – only a comforter. The heaters were shut off at 10pm so we woke to extremely cold temps in the morning. When we returned to the hotel on New Year’s Eve there wasn’t heat or hot water to take a shower. Our used towels were placed in the bathtub in the morning to be replaced with clean towels but the hotel folded the dirty towels as if they had cleaned them.

Dining: The first night we had a banquet and when I went to pour a glass of water I noticed black grime on the handle of the water pitcher and another table had things floating in their water pitcher. I brought both pitchers to the young ladies working at the bar and they both acted like they could not see anything. The hotel served breakfast and it was very hard to find a clean glass, bowl or plate to eat from. The second morning was worse than the first morning – I don’t think they washed any of the dishes from the day before.

I love Scotland and hope to return but never to the Antonine Hotel in Falkirk.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tmar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gael
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

Two friends & I booked a twin & a single room last february for three nights in october while The Royal National Mod was in Falkirk.
Twin Room 301.. filthy bath & wash basin, damp towels, no tea/coffee etc, no soap , no toilet roll, no heating on in mornings, a window that wouldn't shut, only one bed had a valance sheet, only one pillow per bed, no spares. Towels despite being left on floor were not changed. Absolutely no rail or pegs in bathroom to hang anything, no shelf.
Single Room 302... as above but with a blocked toilet, all drawers were full of someone elses belongings including pickled onions & medication.
Our pleas were totally ignored by staff & management.. one chap appeared with a plunger to unblock the toilet.. made matters worse. When we asked to be moved we were told there were no spare rooms... once they were threatened with environmental Health they then gave my friend a room, this was after 10pm, this room had not been changed or cleaned since the last occupant.
On day of departure we demanded to see the owner a Mr Johnston... he refused to come to the rooms with us to see for himself, said he had never before had complaints & would not give us a reduction. he also told us 'surely this is better than sleeping on the street"
I would not recomend anyone to stay here & support the management of this establishment.

  • Liked — Food was OK
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
4 Thank GaelMairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Having read the poor reviews, I was a bit nervous about staying here on business.

Talking to the staff and other locals, it appears that the new management are knocking it into shape, and that most of the previous problems have been resolved (or are being resolved).

Great location, it just needs some more work to bring it right up to standard

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LewisGuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2008

A good centrally based hotel in the town center ideally based for traveling around. The staff were very friendly and welcoming with good information on where to go and what to see locally.
The food was excellent all homemade with fresh veg a bit of a rarity nowadays. One night we ate of the Tapas menu which took us back to our holiday in Spain last year very authentic Tapas. Over the weekend it is very lively but when we got back to our room you could not hear a thing. It has just been taken over by new owners who are trying to bring the standerds up. Would recommend this hotel for value, quality and friendlyness.

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Disliked — Stairs to lift
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank youern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2008

We stayed at the Antonine Hotel in Falkirk because we wanted to stay close to both Glasgow and Edinburgh. We were in Scotland for 10 days, and they could accommodate us for the entire stay. The room was small, with two single beds stuck together, making the centre of the bed very hard. Not very romantic if you ask me! We had a view of the shopping mall roof top next door. There was a telephone in the room, which didn't work. When we alerted the front desk, they said they would look into it, but after three days of asking, they told us none of the telephones in the hotel worked. Therefore we had to run down to the front desk every time we had a question. Staff was not very experienced or professional. Service was minimal at the best of times. I think the owners were nice, but the man would always look like he was in the midst of doing renos to the hotel, with paint stained shirts and torn jeans. No one could give us accurate directions to anywhere, or even suggest a good restaurant to have dinner. Breakfasts were adequate, with serve yourself scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon ... Can't complain as it was included in price, but was only available from from 7:30 to 8:30 weekdays and 8:00 to 9:00 on weekends. Loud music at night coming from the pub downstairs. We always had to ask the front desk to raise the entrance gate every time we drove out, even though the girl would see us leave in our car. Anyone could drive in, but you had to ask to be let out. Strange!!

Would not recommend this place, even though it was cheap.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Service, and stairs
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PQMOMMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falkirk
0.6 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Falkirk North Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cladhan
Hotel Cladhan
#4 of 9 in Falkirk
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Falkirk Hotel
2.6 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
105 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antonine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antonine Hotel

Property: Antonine Hotel
Address: 1 Manor Street, Falkirk FK1 1NT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Falkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Falkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Antonine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Antonine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antonine Hotel Falkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing