We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best or simply the bigot best aka tina turner”
Review of Oxgang House Hotel

Oxgang House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oxgang House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Grangemouth
Reviewed 2 September 2011

should be renamed the Oxgang Rangers Hotel. Not a good atmosphere unless you wear blue and white. Am not of any persuasion but not comfy there.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
6  Thank beaver6996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

Where do i start with this place? I found the room to be terrible. I could never get an early night due to the amount of locals staying for a late drink. The food was terrible. I would avoid this place at all costs. Go somewhere else.
I went to the bar for a drink and felt intimidated by the regulars in the bar. This was when a glasgow rangers game was on and the place was full of very angry people.
Please avoid.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel from the 12th - 14th Nov 2009 in order to attend a family funeral and would like to thank all of the staff for making our stay a very comfortable experience.
There were 3 adults staying in our large room and it was clean and pleasantly furnished with plenty of space for us not to be falling over each other. The en-suite bathroom was enormous and we joked that we could have fitted another double bed in there! The room had tea and coffee making facilities and a TV, and plenty of wardrobe and clothes storage space.
We had full Scottish breakfast on both mornings of our stay and it was superb and the breakfast room was very comfy and nicely furnished.
The thing that stood out for us were all the staff, they were without exception helpful and friendly and again would like to thank them for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scruffyish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Never before have i known a pub to stay open so late 7 days a week. Staff are always willing to stay behind and have a drink or a free strip show. Beware of the guy sitting in the corner wearing the hat he can be quite hostile. Free tutorials from the resident teacher although hes only found proping up bar during school hours!!!!!!! (1 red wine per hour fee). Bar staff are very friendly, especially Manager Mel( Don't be fooled by her appearance) Another good tip is if you see an Aston Martin outside the front door the chances are you are getting a few free drinks(Dont go 1 on 1 as this big chap can drink) Try and avoid Sunday night Jam sessions with lookalike Geronimo as they are crap and are probabley better of sticking to whistles. Pub Is no longer a haunt for the green and white variety as the infamous Oxi Loyal now frequent pub and you are likely to hear The beach boys and Tina Turner On the Juke Box

Overall a fantastic pub 10/10 on all fronts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oxiloyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

While working nearby for almost 2 weeks i had the pleasure of staying here. My room was clean, comfortable and spacious, although I spent most of my free time in the bar. The staff were excellent, helpful and very friendly. The bar meals were superb and very reasonably priced, you can't go wrong with a 3 course meal for a tenner on Sundays. I can recommend the steak pie, and a pint of 70. I wish i had stayed longer and will not hesitate to stay again. So Sharon, Mel, Laura, Babs and those who's name i can't remember, many thanks and see you soon!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sean-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

Our daughter and now husband had their wedding reception at the oxgang house hotel on 31st may 08. We cannot thank the management and staff enough for the hard work that they put in towards making it such a successful and memorable day for us all.
It was a last minute decision to get married and we took the wedding package they have so we didn't have to organise much ourselves . What fantastic value!!!
The food was fab [compliments to the chef] best steak pie i've ever tasted and plenty of it too. Taken my wife back for a bar lunch twice since.
The newly weds stayed in the "honeymoon suite"which had a king-size 4 poster bed which was included in the package price.
We also stayed in a lovely bright room overlooking the garden. Breakfast in the morning was of the same standard as our meal the previous day.
Keep up the good work all staff a the oxgang, will no doubt be back in again soon!
Ben and Meg Rankin

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ScotlandRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

Had relatives from America over for a family gathering at the beginning of April this year. Eight of them stayed in the Oxgang House Hotel for five nights. Rooms were all very fresh and recently re-furbished. One of the single rooms was still to be decorated but was still very comfortable and clean.
What hospitality they were given by the staff, they went out of their way to make them feel welcome.
On the Sunday night there was a pub quiz in the bar and was done with an american theme just for us. Thank goodness the relatives knew how many stars and stripes were on the american flag!! What a great night we had.
They loved the food and we ended up having quite a few family meals in the restaurant, very reasonably priced as well. The chef even made them homemade pancakes and maple syrup at breakfast one morning.
Definitely recommend anyone to go there.

Anne

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank boo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grangemouth
0.3 mi away
Leapark Hotel
Leapark Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grangemouth
335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Helix Hotel
Helix Hotel
#3 of 4 in Grangemouth
126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grange Manor
Grange Manor
#1 of 4 in Grangemouth
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Hotel Cladhan
Hotel Cladhan
#3 of 9 in Falkirk
253 reviews
0 mi away
Milnholm Manor
Milnholm Manor
#2 of 2 in Grangemouth
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxgang House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxgang House Hotel

Address: Oxgang Road, Grangemouth FK3 9BY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Falkirk District > Grangemouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Grangemouth
Price Range: £44 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oxgang House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxgang Hotel Grangemouth
Oxgang House Hotel Grangemouth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing