We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night or more?”
Review of The City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The City Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Dunfermline B&B and Inns
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One night or more?”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Be aware that if you are staying at this hotel and staying one night you are not considered for full services available to others. Having booked in advance, given full details including credit card you are not allowed to charge anything to your room. You can if you are staying two days or more, this is not made clear to you until you try in a public environment and are informed you can't.
As for the room avoid room 21. It is in the attic and if you require to rely on the hand rail don't, they are not secure enough to give confidence.
The room is clean enough, very basic, floors very uneven, furniture at an angle- don't put a glass on the dressing table unless prepared to catch it and for fun look under the wider gap of the closed door to view the fire extinguisher at the end of the corridor.
Food was good.
Would have helped on check out if receptionist had made some eye contact when asking if all was well- scripted comment with no insight.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    77
    66
    24
    24
See reviews for
60
82
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

As a Resident of Dunfermline & with knowledge of how well this Hotel was run by a friend of mine 20+ years ago,I thought I was safe enough to recommend that my father, who stays in Callander,book it for a short 2 day stay in Dunfermline.Leaving aside the perfunctory Receptionist,& that our Rooms where not even on the same floor let alone next to one another.Despite very few people staying at the Hotel.On entry to the Room the best that can be said is Basic, adequate.It is the detail that gives 0/10.No signage on how to lock the door...it is locked from the inside before you exit the room as myself and other residents discovered after puzzling over this for 10/15 minutes.No Safe in the Room. No Minibar.Minimal dusty Hanging Space.Between myself & my Fathers rooms... broken extractor fan,light above Bathroom Mirror not working. Taps & Shower attachment not working...dangerously stuck on searingly hot water..in both rooms.. in my room once water was on in bath/shower it could NOT be switched off.had to call the Duty Manager for that.Extremely noisy all night outside the rooms in the corridor. ..perhaps large notices suggesting a respect for other guests? In my Fathers case ..his room on the 1st Floor, (the window overlooking bins and buckets and unpainted uncared for damp walls with trees growing out of walls),...after midnight loud and long noise from the dumping of 100s of glass bottles into bins...again happening at 6a.m....there were other problems,suffice to say I cannot ,sadly,recommend staying in the City Hotel.
One last thing that my
friend used to do when he was Manager of the Hotel.Both he & his staff would stay in all the Rooms as a guest to check if there were things missing or over-looked or broken before allowing paying guests to use the Rooms. I would suggest to the present
Management that they reinstate this to reduce the chances of negative reviews such as this one.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chucknbenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunfermline hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed here a few times in various differant rooms. You get what you pay for.I stayed in the executive suite for a week and its top class, nice big room, huge comfy bed and huge bathroom.

I then downgraded to a cheaper single room. These are adequate and ideal for work stays.
Breakfast is very good and bar meals are also quite good with a good selection to choose from.

The parking situation is very annoying. There is a public car park at the back, but its a pay and display during the day time, free at night. There are 4 or 5 spaces under the hotel balcony but they are always taken.

I would stay there again if working in the area.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the street are noisy at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandoyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here for 1 night while visiting the Theatre.
Luckily enough we managed to obtain 1 of the few free parking spaces at the back of the hotel otherwise you have to pay and display. We then climbed the back stairs to check in. We had 2 rooms and they were at the opposite sides of the hotel. The executive room was in now way executive. Was a shoebox. Our room however was quite big and spacious. The room was freezing when we first went in as the window was left open. The room had a double bed and 2 singles which was fine. The bathroom was lovely i must say. The walls had a few holes in it however. My bed wasnt made properly and the sheet was hanging off it.
We then went down for some food before heading to the theatre. The conservatory was lovely and had such a nice setting. The food however was a different story. My lasagna looked like it had been nueked in the microwave and the chips were barely cooked. We all had the same opinion on the food. We managed to have a couple of drinks in the resedential bar after the show which was good and the staff were nice and friendly. Breakfast was much better and enjoyable. Overall it is a not bad stop over for a night and was relatively cheap. The location is great for the theatre also.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kendal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We visited Dumfermline for a friends wedding. We arrived early at the hotel and where greeted by a very friendly receptionist who although we where early checked if our room was ready to allow us to check in there and then. The room was very spacious and clean and we had no complaints at all. Tea and coffee making facilities where available in the room. We had a very pleasant stay and found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very relaxed and the service we received was excellent as well as the food which set us up well for the long journey back home. Should we ever need to visit the area in the future we would not hesitate to stay at the City Hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leona r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comrie
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We visited today for lunch whilst enjoying a walk around town. Having lived here all our lives, surprisingly this is only the second time we have eaten here.

We did not stay here. Only used the restaurant.

Seated in the attractive Conservatory the young lady served us promptly our food arrived in good time, was well presented, hot and tasty. Pretty good we thought. Best sticky toffee pud' we have tried for a while.

Decent bar type food in nice surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexblack13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, Scotland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

When we checked in, after climbing the back stairs from the car park (which actually is a local council car park with limited stay and quite expensive) there is only a few spaces under the balcony overhang that belong to the hotel. Our room (11) had no heating at all while we were there, the tea/coffee facilities were adequate, although we had to buy bottled water to use. Reception gave us the password for the wifi but unfortunately this did not work when we asked about it we were told we must be in a black spot, when speaking to other guests we found out they were told the same, so the whole hotel must be a black spot - not good, when we all rely on technology nowadays and are told that is one of the facilities. The breakfast was very good and the girls could not have been more cheerful and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 11 is fine if you are looking for an overnight with no frills or technology!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.1 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Hotel

Property: The City Hotel
Address: 18 Bridge Street, Dunfermline KY12 8DA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Hotel Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing