We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The City Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Dunfermline B&B and Inns
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here for one night so I could go to a concert in the Alhambra. Room was basic, but clean and comfortable enough. The Alhambra and local pubs were within a few minutes walking distance, so it was ideal. Train station isn't too far either, about 15 minutes walk. Will definately use again if I'm ever back in Dunfermline for a concert or night out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSt1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    69
    63
    24
    22
See reviews for
54
78
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed whilst going to a show in town. Good location, friendly staff and reasonable bar prices. Hotel close to all amenities and also about 10 min walk to the train station for easy access to Edinburgh. Would definitely stay here again if ever in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Towny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here before and was ok but this time not so good. Executive room was lovely really impressed but I know it was a Saturday night but the noise outside was not good. Awake from 2am till 4.30am. After been awake for 2 hours got up and no hot water in shower and TV didn't work. For £75 a night expect more. Receptionist didn't seem that bothered when we told her

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank anonymous186565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Varied menu for both meat eaters and vegetarians. We were given a nice table in the conservatory area. Pleasant staff and food served promptly. We enjoyed our meals and will eat here again. Plenty of parking in nearby car park.

Room Tip: We did not stay here, we had lunch here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_in_Fife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
259 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Had lunch time menu with friend . Both of us enjoyed food served by nice staff . Will return and recommend to friends and family . My friend had roast beef I had haddock both enjoyed meal and the chocolates that came with bill .

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have been going to the city hotel for many years at least once or twice a week the food use to be excellent we have been several times over the last 4 months but it just gets worse hence to say being a local they have lost a regular customer we have had several complaints with food being stale gravy rationed and we once ordered puddings that had no more than a desert spoon of custard,food was cold the city use to be great 12 months ago but now I wouldn't recommend on one occasion the toilets were absolutely disgusting I would avoid this place like the plague !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Reiley1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunfermline hotels

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

On arrival, I almost drove past the hotel as it just looks like a grim pub from outside! My colleagues and I were staying here on business - we had booked a couple of executive rooms and a couple of 'normal' doubles. However, it was difficult to establish which was executive and which wasn't. My room was tiny, without as much as a hairdryer supplied in the drawer. However, the décor was modern. One of my colleagues had a huge room but dated décor, and therefore, I don't know which fell into the executive category!
On the plus side, they opened the bar in the hotel especially for us after normal hours and breakfast staff were helpful. I wouldn't choose this hotel again though.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveHols85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.1 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
1.6 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
1.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Hotel

Property: The City Hotel
Address: 18 Bridge Street, Dunfermline KY12 8DA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The City Hotel Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing