We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual mix of cafe with lots of vintage stuff about”

The Whistlestop Tearoom & Vintage Boutique
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Seating
Chester-le-Street, Co. Durham
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Unusual mix of cafe with lots of vintage stuff about”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Bank Holiday afternoon in Dunfermline and I'm on a journey from Cumbernauld to Kilconquhar in Fife, so this was an obvious place to stop. Only one other customer at 1500, so everything didn't stop for tea at three o'clock in Dunfermline. She left, leaving me to survey the amazing mix of tables and chairs, none the same, and the single rack, in a side room, of vintage clothes. Nothing I spotted was for men, unfortunately. The man behind the counter didn't seem to be a vintage expert - this is two businesses in one, and I think the cafe wins out, up a side street from the main drag. Worth a detour, though, because the tea was nice - three good cups from the teabag in a real teapot I was provided with, and the strawberry cheesecake was very tasty. I like vintage shops, but there wasn't enough to have a good rummage. Interesting concept but a bit lacking in atmosphere, what with me being the only customer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anylex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“This place has changed over the years but still holds firm”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We've been coming here for years and it's a firm family favourite. Although it wont always but top quality looking food and drink, it will quench you for a reasonable cost.
The home made food is always the nicest anyway and much prefer this to a Costa or another chain shop.
Long may this place exist.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilton-88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loose leaf tea from a china cup”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

My idea of bliss! Always go here if I am looking for a break from shopping. Homemade soup always delicious, sandwiches made fresh and the cakes are fantastic. Very different and quirky. Love it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank The_Wandererd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just what Dunfermline needs.”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Lovely, little cafe with delicious cake! I have visited here a few times and have been impressed every time. Its a nice change from the big chain coffee shops in the town and the quirky, vintage vibe is just what Dunfermline needs - something different. Will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ljwilson90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

i went here for a coffee and catch up and was very impressed cosy little family venue i took my 4 month daughter alone and got a cute pic with her in one of there vintage seats. good atmosphere good food and drinks for good price recommend for everyone to try top notch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scotman1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Whistlestop Tearoom & Vintage Boutique also viewed

Limekilns, Dunfermline
Rosyth, Dunfermline
 
Dunfermline, Fife
Dunfermline, Fife
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing