We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheesed off! Dont get the cheesecake”

Grill 48 Bar & Grill
Ranked #56 of 193 Restaurants in Dunfermline
Price range: US$11 - US$53
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The award winning Grill 48 Bar and Grill is situated on East Port in the heart of the historic town of Dunfermline, and is the ideal in town location for light lunch, pre theatre dining, drinks or relaxed evening meal with family and friends. Grill 48 prides itself on blending excellent, friendly service in a relaxed atmosphere using the best locally sourced ingredients to produce a variety of traditional and seasonal dishes all the family will love. Specialities include 28 day matured denver steak, prime Scotch beef burgers and haggis nachos. Our new cocktail lounge provides over 20 signature cocktails for you to try. Combining drink flavours from around the world with a local twist. Grill 48 also offers exclusive private dining for birthday parties, weddings, anniversaries, leaving nights, Christmas parties, baby showers, hen and stag parties. With a variety of private dining and buffet options to suit you’re every need. Menus available include • Lunch • Dinner • Pre Theatre • Gluten Free – Other allergies also catered for including dairy free • Children’s Menu
Reviewed 29 August 2014

£5.95 per small slice - rip off, enough said!! The burgers were ok, service slow, chairs have cheap fabric black covers over then that look cheap. They are probably selling the cheesecake so high to buy decent seats for the customers - I hope :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sallygoudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grill48, Owner at Grill 48 Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Grill 48, we are disappointed that you feel that the price of our cheesecake is high, however the prices are clearly stated on our menu and this week alone we have sold over 24 slices of cheesecake to happy customers.

After checking our service records we can see your order was taken at 12.07pm and you left the restaurant at 12.50pm, we are not a fast food restaurant and our food is made fresh to order. We therefor do not believe that the service was slow to your table.

With regards to our chair covers nobody has ever made a negative comment about our chairs and we believe they are comfortable and serve a purpose within our restaurant décor.

Thank you once again for your review and as always at Grill 48 we take on board your comments.

Kindest Regards

Linn
Linn Williamson
Owner
Grill 48.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

This restaurant had delicious food and very friendly service. Despite being busy, the waitresses were very attentive and personable. We had a large menu to choose from ranging from Traditional Scottish cuisine to steak/burgers. We all got the burgers since it was the last night of our trip and we were not disappointed. The burgers do not come with any sides, which is fine because we picked a couple and shared family style. Portion sizes were good and prices reasonable. The desserts were also very good. I would recommend the toffee cake!

Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grill48, Owner at Grill 48 Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Grill 48 the time taken to do so is much appreciated by all of the team.

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your experience and hope that next time you are in the area you will pop in and say hello.

Thank you once again

Kindest Regards

Linn
Linn Williamson
Owner
Grill 48

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This hidden gem in Dunfermline is highly recommended!!!!! Good interior, music, staff and above all amazing food!

Highly recommended...

1  Thank Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grill48, Owner at Grill 48 Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Grill 48. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are passing.

Kindest Regards

Linn
Linn Williamson
Owner
Grill 48

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Wanted a nice hearty meal and we weren't disappointed . Brilliant choices on the menu literally something for everyone. The atmosphere was excellent and the staff really gave it the personal touch. Will definitely be back. Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R21och
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grill48, Owner at Grill 48 Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Grill 48, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Wishes

Linn
Linn Williamson
Owner
Grill 48

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I was very impressed with the staff, they were very polite and helpful. We had just gotten into dunfermline after traveling from skye and we were just looking for a quick place to eat. Not knowing the area we saw something open so we stopped in. We felt a little out of place in jeans and traveling with a one year old baby. My husband enjoyed his burger and chips. I didn't enjoy my burger. I found the price to be a little high. I think the chips should be included with the price of the burger. The staff were great though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LisaM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grill48, Owner at Grill 48 Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Grill 48, we are pleased that you enjoyed aspects of your meal however are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your burger as nothing was said during your meal regarding it.

We made the decision to not include chips with the burgers for a few reasons, after looking at current trends in the burger restaurant market we discovered that in many restaurants they do not serve chips automatically as this allows you to provide a good quality burger at a good price point and also allows the guests to select a healthier option or perhaps share a side depending on what they fancy.

As always at Grill 48 we take on board your comments.

Kindest Regards

Linn
Linn Williamson
Owner
Grill 48

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grill 48 Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Dunfermline, Fife
 

Been to Grill 48 Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing