We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”
Review of Balmule House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balmule House
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful B&B”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at Balmule house for three nights and didn't want to leave. It is luxurious and furnished exquisitely and the gardens are beautiful. It a lovely escape, but also close enough to Edinburgh to spend your days there if you wish. The best thing about the experience is the staff, they go the extra mile with everything, they made us feel so comfortable and even organised all our taxi's and trains for us. This is the perfect place to spend a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
67
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the house one night and enjoyed every minute of it. The house itself is fully renovated and superbly decorated. The rooms are large and spacious with individual styles. The common rooms are also very enjoyable and with quality and high class throughout.
Definitely a place to stay close to Edinbrough!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Junget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belper derbyshire
Level Contributor
275 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed in Balmule for a week in June whilst working locally. This is the best place I have stayed in for a long time, if not ever.

The whole place is beautifully furnished and decorated, no expense has been spared to loving restore this amazing building. Large comfortable bedrooms with luxury beds and amazing bathrooms.

Gorgeous breakfasts and fantastic service from the moment you get greeted at the door.

I had the guest kitchen and lounge all to myself which made it a very comfortable stay in deed, I was even offered the use of the BBQ in the garden. Nothing is to much trouble for host. franc you have created a beautiful place to stay.

I spent most of my evenings in the walled garden, truly a delightful,place to sit and soak up the view and local wildlife.

Still thinking about this place even now. I will be back but this time for a romantic quite weekend with my wife.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank booleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I live near Dunfermline and was looking for a hotel for the evening to escape an 18th birthday party at home. Balmule House, what a find. I'd been expecting to end up in one of the typical in-town hotels, but instead enjoyed the fantastic setting, decor, room, food and service of Balmule House. We stayed in the Yellow Room, with an extra bed added for our son. Plenty of space and stunning views across the grounds of the house.

Pity we had to leave, but we will be visiting again.




A great experience and one that I plan to repeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed three nights at the Balmule House during our trip to Scotland, and loved it.
The common rooms on the ground floor were superb and tastefully decorated, we had a large bedroom with views of the garden and the surrounding area, the bathrooms were top notch, and the shower in one of the bathrooms was one of the nicest we encountered in the UK. They told us that the wi-fi didn't work that well upstairs in the bedrooms, but we didn't care, because it was so nice to sit in the very large living room/great room and enjoy the surroundings while checking email. The breakfasts were wonderful -- orange juice, great coffee, fruit, and choices of hot food, including salmon and eggs and a Scottish breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, and beans). The staff was wonderful: they were polite, helpful, and gave great advice on what to see and how to get there, and even the best place to buy cashmere and woolen items. The owner was terrific. He walked us through the five hundred year history of the house, his restoration of it and some of his plans for the grounds and other buildings, and a bit of his background and his work in both the US and in Scotland. And he is just a very nice person -- we had to leave the last morning at 5:15 to catch an early morning flight out of Edinburgh and told him that we would miss breakfast, but at 5:00 am he was outside of our room with a tray covered with fruit, orange juice, coffee, and pastry. Did I remember to write what a wonderful place this is?

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great and were tastefully decorated. I do recommend that you check the web sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Over the past couple of years we've stayed at many hotels for various reasons and I haven't bothered to leave reviews as our stays were pleasant enough and didn't warrant either good or bad reviews but I felt I had to leave a review of Balmule House as it was one of the best places we have stayed in.

From the minute you drive up the private drive off the main road you feel like you are entering something special. The property looks interesting and old from the outside yet modern and comfortable and so tasteful on the inside.

Franc met us on arrival and took the time to show us round. I had a wide smile on my face the minute I stepped through the front door. We could tell he was proud of the work done in the transformation and what great taste he has. No expense has been spared. Furnishings and decoration were spot on. Beds so comfortable and linens and towels smelled fresh and comfortable. Unlike many hotels with hired linen that smells clinical and stiff. Quality toiletries, great views. I just cant rave enough about everything. We visited the hotels own website which looked great but it does not do it justice. We wouldn't have been disappointed in any of the rooms but we especially like our room as it was huge. My husband fits bathrooms for a living and normally finds fault in every hotel bathroom but he complimented the huge bathroom here so that in itself is a great recommendation LOL
I can't describe here how great the place was and if you are considering Balmule House do yourself a favour and GO.
Breakfast was great. We could have had anything we wanted. We spent the time raving about the Balmule House to each other and said had we known about this place earlier we would have had our wedding here as it would be perfect for a small wedding and exclusive use would make us feel like lord and lady of the manor LOL - ah well - back to real life.

Room Tip: Splash out on a superior room although the classic rooms are perfectly acceptable. We stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainemck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Sadly we only stayed one night at the Balmule, but after our stay, we wished it could have been much longer, and the next time we go, it will definitely be for more than one night.
The room we had was the 'Yellow room', and even though we had checked out the hotel on the Hotels own website, the pictures only gave a glimpse of what this beautiful establishment has to offer. The room was spotless with everything we needed, to a high level of luxury and taste. The host, Robert, was so welcoming and couldn't do enough to make our stay as comfortable and as relaxing as possible. Breakfast was delicious and the real fire in the grate really added to the warmth and ambience of the whole experience. We would highly recommend this Lovely Hotel to anyone who just wants to get away from it all, the location is ideal if you want a peaceful relaxing luxurious getaway. The Hotel is also a wedding venue, understandably so, it's got everything including wonderful picturesque grounds. We can't wait to go there again.

Room Tip: Check the website and call the hotel to see if you would like a specific room as they are all differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntysue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfermline
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
14.8 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
554 reviews
2.5 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Garvock House Hotel
Garvock House Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
272 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
381 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmule House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmule House

Property: Balmule House
Address: | Just off the B915, Dunfermline KY12 0RZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Balmule House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmule House has roots and features that stretch back over 500 years yet has a dramatically transformed interior, designed and crafted with every modern convenience. Set amidst 30 acres of grounds just north of Dunfermline, the ancient Capital of Scotland, Balmule House provides the highest standards of luxury accommodation in opulent surroundings. With several stunning reception rooms, beautiful formal gardens and picturesque views in all directions, we have the perfect venue for your getaway or special occasion. Rarely will you ever find a building with such a rich heritage. Nor will you often see a home with such quality and comfort built into every last detail. To find both in one home is simply unheard of. So while the solid stone walls of this Fife tower house hold the history of every past resident, this is no museum piece. This is a living, breathing home for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Balmule House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmule House Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing