We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Balmule House.”
Review of Balmule House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balmule House
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love Balmule House.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I have stayed in this beautiful house on two occasions.I love everything about the place. The painstaking restoration and no expense spared decoration is so apparent. Beautiful fabrics and elegant furnishings all in keeping with the period of the house. Many delightful art works and object de art adorn and enhance each room. Traditional and contemporary furnishings blend together perfectly.The whole place just flows with good taste that, I felt very tempted to show myself around around every room and nook and cranny.The hosts Franc and Duncan are absolutely delightful and nothing is too much trouble.The windows all give a joyous view of the enchanting grounds and acres of rolling country side beyond.If you are planning to visit this area of Scotland. Please stay at Balmule.Infact I say just go for no other reason than to experience the sheer delight of the house the hosts the estate.

Room Tip: I say try all rooms.They are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
68
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed for one night after a wedding held there and it was fantastic. Accommodation, the other rooms in the House , the amazing views and manicured grounds. Staff, Duncan and Margaret could not do enough and the breakfast was excellent.
A relaxing stay in a beautiful room which was elegantly designed and furnished.

Excellent all round and a great place to stop off and stay if you are visiting Fife or the neighboring areas.

Room Tip: All rooms on the first floor are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casmanx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Going to a friend birthday in area an came across this gem of a place . As soon as we pulled up frank the host met us great welcome then sorted out our meal for the night in restaurant near by taxi would be arranged for us if needed then show to our wonderful room an showed how things worked from showers to docking stations for phones an iPods . Given keys to let our selfs in when back from party ( you are then more relaxed not worrying about getting your host up ) great night sleep an woke up to wonderful views . Breakfast was great just perfect to end our stay. Do you want the perfect getaway for any reason give this place a try a wee gem --- thank you again for a wonderful stay will be back

Room Tip: No pool or fitness centre not what we where after but if this guest house had them they would be exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audenshaw, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

A proper country house a few miles from Dunfermline.
I wasn't expecting much so it was a pleasant surprise.
The whole place is 'tasteful' with hints of sumptuous.
The room 'Mint Room' - large, comfortable and well appointed with quality items. The view was good too http://www.balmule.co.uk/bedroom_c.html.
We were on a B&B basis...so breakfast - full cooked to a pleasing standard.
I have a couple of qualifications.
These days a room without en suite is a bit of a shock, you don't even think about it any more when booking. The bathroom was large and well appointed but required a walk - you know, wearing a dressing gown an' everything!
Also - WiFi. It's 2013 and WiFi is no longer a luxury, more a given. They allegedly have it. There were hints here and there - but not enough to make my bog standard phone and tablet work reliably.
I have stayed in nicer places but not very often.
When faced with quality I start looking for flaws - the wardrobe door squeaked when you walked past it. I was a little miffed at the non working fireplace - no hearth. Quibbles.
Otherwise it was all good to high quality.
Even the communal kitchen/lounge was useful and comfortable - never seen that before.
The 'staff' - only saw the one but he was welcoming and helpful.
The same room with en suite and working WiFi would have propelled it into onto a higher level - one that the appointments deserve.
Despite my carping I liked it quite a lot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveplanetdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Booked only for 1 night due to work commitments but wish it had been longer- definitely coming back next year.
The owner couldn't have done enough- giving us a choice of two rooms and accommodating our early breakfast need! I'd recommend it to friends and family.
Many thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titch_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

It says a lot to me as a business and pleasure traveller when I see some posters have stayed at a property multiple times.

The Balmule House is in the same league as very few places I've ever stayed -- it is THE place I stay when in the area. Period, every time!

We had a fantastic 2 day break, blissful sleep, and the recommended Indian restaurant in Dunfermline was out of this world.

The staff are very welcoming and accommodating, the bathrooms immense and very comfortable, and the owners make you feel like family.

Room Tip: They're all very good rooms -- never a bad room at Balmule House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S6blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrabool
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a top quality B&B in a lovely setting. The room was very comfortable and there was a very nice lounge room for the use of guests. Best of all, a small kitchen and TV room where you can cook your own meals. I have a couple of provisos though. First of all, realise that this property is in the country side so if you want to cook, bring your food with you. If you wish to eat out, then that will require a car trip. Secondly, if you have trouble with stairs, then this is not the place for you. Our room was at the top of two high stair cases. But it was worth the climb!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfermline
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
14.8 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
563 reviews
20.0 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Garvock House Hotel
Garvock House Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
275 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmule House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmule House

Property: Balmule House
Address: | Just off the B915, Dunfermline KY12 0RZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Balmule House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmule House has roots and features that stretch back over 500 years yet has a dramatically transformed interior, designed and crafted with every modern convenience. Set amidst 30 acres of grounds just north of Dunfermline, the ancient Capital of Scotland, Balmule House provides the highest standards of luxury accommodation in opulent surroundings. With several stunning reception rooms, beautiful formal gardens and picturesque views in all directions, we have the perfect venue for your getaway or special occasion. Rarely will you ever find a building with such a rich heritage. Nor will you often see a home with such quality and comfort built into every last detail. To find both in one home is simply unheard of. So while the solid stone walls of this Fife tower house hold the history of every past resident, this is no museum piece. This is a living, breathing home for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Balmule House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmule House Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing