We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience”

Limekilns Hotel and Bistro
Ranked #23 of 186 Restaurants in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$32
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Special lunch menu is affordable and always of good quality. Friendly and inviting service in comfortable surroundings is never in short supply from young proprietrix who ensures that you have an enjoyable dining experience. A good place for regular custom.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mentorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    33
    3
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Discovered Limekilns hotel and Bistro while out for a sunny Sunday drive. Lovely restaurant and very friendly owner, excellent food and service. Will definitely return, with family next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice inviting comfortable and relaxing.”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I am generally wary of such sites as the reviews left by other people never seem to represent the experience my wife and I had. A bit like Miss World. The one we chose always came last! Whether that comment says more about us than the reviews or the restaurant I don't know. I have never read a review then gone to the restaurant. If I look at Trip Advisor it is usually after the event because the restaurant was really good or as is usually the case pretty dire. The "chef" lost without a deep fat frier! In this case however we are sticking our heads above the parapet. We were here accidentally. Just set off and ended up in Limekilns. As you do! From the minute we walked through the door we were greeted warmly by Wendy shown to a table where we had drinks. I'm not saying anything about the food because one mans meat and all that. Suffice it to say what we had we enjoyed. A few minor niggles but nothing that would put us off going back. The atmosphere remained warm and friendly and the place became very busy which speaks for itself. So to finish as I said we would go back and it is nice to find a nice eating place in this culinary desert called Fife! Wee restaurant/Peat Inn and their like excluded.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bazmazing!”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

No need to visit the city to find a great eatery when there is the most amazing food, fantastic service and warmest welcome at the Limekilns Bistro. Yaz the owner is a wonderful hostess, as is her dad Baz (who's a real character) and her mum who's the chef. We regularly eat here with our 14 month old baby daughter and she couldn't be more welcome. If you haven't visited this place yet…WHY NOT!!!????

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ripley19UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy Hotel”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Restaurants like this encourage you to eat out.

Freshly prepared good food at a fair price.

Clean, fresh and bright decor.

Good location.

Relaxed and helpful service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank piggieslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Limekilns Hotel and Bistro also viewed

Limekilns, Dunfermline
Limekilns, Dunfermline
 
Dunfermline, Fife
 

Been to Limekilns Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing