We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy place, lovely food”
Review of Carlucci

Carlucci
Reserve with OpenTable
Carlucci is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 186 Restaurants in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: IN THE HEART OF THE TOWN, LOVELY PLACE FOR A NICE LUNCH DURING YOUR SHOPPING OR FOR A SMART DINNER TO IMPRESS YOUR WIFE OR FRIENDS.....
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Classy place, lovely food”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A beautiful meal at a busy time on a Saturday night, great menu, well cooked. Friendly staff and efficient service. Have already recommended to friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    146
    47
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tail of two dinners”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Visited the above restaurant on the 27th July . Not too busy , but a nice atmosphere .

Bread sticks and oil as a free taster , which was a nice touch . Staff very friendly , and gave impression nothing would be too much trouble .

Starters were mixed with my bruschetta being nice although could have had onions with it (personal taste ) . My partner got 2 scallops on some burnt toast with some salad and a sauce . This was ok , however at 6.90 , very expensive for the portion .
Main course arrived and again my sirloin steak was good with mushroom sauce . However again my partner lost out with the sirloin steak/Parma ham/peppers . Really salty , with burnt peppers / onions , and left an oil taste. Side order of broccoli / cauliflower with cheese sauce had some grated cheese melted over it . Not enough to constitute a sauce .
Nice cuts of beef , however wasted by the chef .
Total bill with some soft drinks and a class of wine 61 pounds . Sorry tries hard but will not be back. .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Youngkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan A, Owner at Carlucci, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
We are disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your visit to our restaurant last night. We are slightly confused regarding your comments as the waitresses asked on several occasions if the meal was to your satisfaction and at no point in time did you raise any concerns.
We do not advertise the broccoli and cauliflower as coming with a cheese sauce but as with cheese. If you had raised any concerns with either the scallop dish or the steak we would have been more than willing to rectify any problems at the time but when we are told everything is ok we assume people are enjoying their meal.
Regarding the cost of your meal we feel that £61 is not too expensive for 2 steaks , 2 starters, and drinks as scallops are very expensive to buy and it was a prime cut of meat.
We try to ensure that all our guests have a positive experience and although the restaurant was full not quiet as suggested as we had a very busy night last night we would have liked the opportunity to sort any problems at the time.
Although we pride ourselves on our food and service we do realise mistakes do happen and if you wish to take your custom elsewhere that is your prerogative and we hope they meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“"Disappointed"”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Visited this restaurant last night with friends, lovely atmosphere, service was excellent, only let down was the Lasagne which had no meat in it, basically it was ? one sheet of pasta and tomato and cheese sauce!, if meat had been added (like it should have) it would have been good! So come on guys don't spoil which could be a really good restaurant with skimping on the ingredients.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pollydolly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan A, Owner at Carlucci, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
We are disappointed that you did not find your meal at our restaurant to your satisfaction on friday night. We are also disappointed that you did not raise any concerns about your meal on the evening because it is our policy to ensure that our customers are happy with their meal and we visited your table several times and no concerns were raised. We can only rectify problems if we are aware of them and we would have appreciated the opportunity to have changed your meal at the time.
We will look into the lack of meat in the lasagne but i can assure you that this is not the norm as we pride ourselves on our quality of food and service.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to prove to you that we are worthy of our reputation in the town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

4 of us arrived on an early Saturday night and was warmly greeted by Carrie and quickly showed to our table drinks ordered and menu looked at we then were given lovely bread sticks with oil and vinegar while we decided what to have 2 of us had bruschetta which was lovely I then had sirloin which was very tender with salad and fries husband had the veal with lemon which he enjoyed sorry to say no room for pudding. Although our first visit it will not be our last excellent meal with first class service

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyscotDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty food, relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Was in the area for business and called in here during a weekday evening. The food was lovely and the serving staff attentive but unobtrusive. I thought prices were fairly mid range. I did not feel it was over priced. I would visit again if in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chocohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carlucci also viewed

 

Been to Carlucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing