We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline(Dunfermline)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Garvock House Hotel(Dunfermline)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmule House(Dunfermline)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
25
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh milkmain roadhospitality traycooked breakfastgreat place to staybed was very comfortabletrain stationstayed here for nightssuzannefridgetoiletriespropertyensuitescotlandwifishowertv
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

My baby and I stayed here for two nights on the way to/from the Scottish Highlands. It us conveniently located not far from the motorway, but far enough into Dunfermline.
The room was clean, well thought out and well appointed, with big warm and comfy beds. The hosts provided us with a cot which was a huge help.
Breakfast was tasty (full English) in a bright and light conservatory area.
The hosts were lovely, I'd been nervous with it being the first holiday with my baby, but they couldn't have been any more friendly, making sure that we had everything we needed and keeping in touch for check in.
We will be returning.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank asherah213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin E, Owner at Clarke Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are so happy that we made your stay with us comfortable and homely. You will all be welcome any time. Best wishes...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

We once again booked a stay at Clarke Cottage....our third in the last 5 years. This time we found new owners Suzanne and Colin continuing the excellent hospitality we enjoyed in the past. They have done a bit of updating and we again appreciated having a lovely common area to sit with our friends in the evening, as well as the proximity to places to eat and shop. We were on a round robin driving trip, flying in and out of Edinburgh, and driving through southern England and Wales in the days between. Our one regret was that Clarke Cottage was only available at the beginning of our trip, and not on the days toward the end. This speaks to the popularity of this property! Book ahead if you plan to use this charming place!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sonoradesertrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin E, Owner at Clarke Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you for this lovely review and feed back, we hope to see you again next year on your next visit.

Best regards Colin and Suzanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Stayed here yesterday evening and had a really good experience. The couple who run this place were relaxed and amenable to my late arrival after a late flight and car hire hell. The room was spotless and had all amenities you'd expect including a welcome carafe of ice cold water. Breakfast was sublime with fresh fruit, creamy yoghurt and a fresh fry up with eggs as you like them. Can't fault it and the price was more than reasonable. Would definitely recommend to other single female travellers - felt safe and comfortable. Will definitely stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hallie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin E, Owner at Clarke Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you Hallie, hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Colin and Suzanne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

I was warmly welcomed by Suzanne and Colin to this pleasant guest house which is tucked away off a busy main road. I was in room 5 and heard no traffic at all during my overnight stay. It's quite a dark room with just a small corner window but very cosy looking in the evening when the lights are on. The hospitality tray was generous and included hot chocolate and there was a refrigerator with fresh milk for those who don't like the little pots of long life; there was also a bottle of water in the fridge. The bed was very comfortable and the toiletries are good. The breakfast was very good with a fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals etc as well as a help yourself cooked breakfast although the eggs are cooked freshly as requested. I wouldn't hesitate to stay in this comfortable cottage again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ropebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

I honestly wasn't expecting to have such a nice place here at Clarke Cottage Guest House. I really just needed a place to crash for the few nights I was working in Scotland but instead was blown away by the kindness and hospitality that Suzanne and Colin have given! The bed was very comfortable (actually two beds in my room), and the WiFi for my work was nice and fast. There was even a hot water machine and a small refrigerator in the room, and the shower had a Heated Towel holder! I never even saw one of those before! But my favorite was the breakfast they cook for you. I had a little bit of everything. Fruit, coffee, toast, Egg, Haggis, sausages, beans, Black pudding, mushrooms, it was all very very very good! You need to stay here if you are visiting Dunfermline overnight. You'll be happy you did but you might not want to leave!

Room Tip: Room 4 has two single beds and it was fine.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjklesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews