We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food at a great price”
Review of The Glen Tavern

The Glen Tavern
Ranked #34 of 186 Restaurants in Dunfermline
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pub food at a great price”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Tried the Glen Tavern for a meal for the first time this afternoon. It won't be the last that's for sure. There is a huge choice on the menu and there are all sorts of offers. We opted for the Sunday 3 course at only £8.95. I had mini spring rolls to start. Kev had blackpudding. We both had steak pie. It was one of the best I have had. It was a huge portion as well. Then we both had sticky toffee pudding and ice cream. With a pint of diet coke and a tin as well the bill came to £21. I would highly recommend this pub for a meal. Every meal that came out of the kitchen looked good. The staff were very friendly and although the pub was busy nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. When we were paying the bill I had a look at the kids menu. It was very good as well and they do a great breakfast on a Sunday from 11am. Give this place a visit. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyceL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    58
    7
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best pub grub in Dunfermline”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My family and I have visited the Glen Tavern on several occasions and have never had any cause for complaint.

Compared to the heated up rubbish served in places like Wetherspoons and the Seven Kings, the food on offer in the Glen Tavern is on a different world.

Varied menu and the food is always freshly cooked. Chips, exactly as chips should be !

Special mention must also go to the specials that they do. During the week you can get soup and a main for just £5 and these vary all the time so you can get very lucky. Additionally, every second Saturday they do a "half price Saturday" meal and you just wont beat that value anywhere.

No hesitation in recommending this place to anybody who is in the area and fancies some real nice food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good pub food”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

this is know the fourth time in several weeks that my family and I have eaten in this establishment and again we were not dissapointed i had the mac and cheese it was the best my husband and daughter both cleared there plates as did i homemade steak pie they say was great.The staff are friendly and nothing seems to be a problem .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NatalieO477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“GREAT LITTLE PLACE”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I have been here several times and found it to be first class every time so we have taken a number of friends and made recommendations. The food is excellent along with the service. Everything is very fresh and hot on arrival and the staff are pleasant and attentive. On one occasion we were a party of 14 and 3 course meals were delivered along with teas/coffess/drinks very timeously and at very reasonable rates. Most of the dishes are starred at half price for pensionsers and their are fortnightly half price Saturdays. Not to be missed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helens939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Went here for a family meal wasn`t disappointed,decent selection the place was very busy with a good selection and there is a kids menu if needed,the only negatives were it took a bit of time between the starter and main meal and it was very hot inside although it was a warm night but would recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Glen Tavern also viewed

Dunfermline, Fife
Inverkeithing, Fife
 
Dunfermline, Fife
 
Dunfermline, Fife
Dunfermline, Fife
 

Been to The Glen Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing