We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
W Yorkshire
Level Contributor
156 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Another pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I booked the Davaar on short notice, again another enjoyable stay.

There were a few minor niggles this time, I couldn't get any hot water for a shave from the hot tap and it was a little dark in the lounge.

However the room was fine, the food was excellant, the wine good and very reasonably priced and the owner and his wife were helpful to the point of rediculousness.

For the price it is a great place and well worth staying there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZX6RRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    33
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
59
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

A small and extremely friendly hotel, you would be hard pushed to find a more welcoming couple than Jim and Doreen. Our room was clean and very comfortable and breakfast was delicious. We will definitely be returning and recommend the Davaar Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clisson, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed at Davaar house for one night on Business. The hotel was spotless and the breakfast was fantastic, the best poach eggs i have ever had.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

It is a small and really friendly hotel. Jim is so friendly and Doreen's food is amazing I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Very clean and comfortable room. Great Place to stay

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

This is the 3rd time i have stayed at Jim & Doreen's Hotel and it never fails to amaze me how friendly and warm the reception my wife Helen and i receive each time we visit.
Doreen the food is superb as always and Jim your humour and wit is outstanding.
The rooms are always top notch and both Jim and Doreen cannot do enough for you.
I would never look elsewhere than the Davaar House Hotel when staying in Dunfermline.
Look after yourselfs and we look forward to seeing you on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Yorkshire
Level Contributor
156 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Well fellow reviewers, this is the first time I'm actually reviewing a place whilst there.
Its a small hotel in residential street as people have previously pointed out.
Well I'm a field engineer, so my review is based on my needs and requirements. I have hectic, stress filled, long days from hell usually. Therefore I do NOT want some bloody rubbish Ikea like dump full of people vomiting everywhere and loud music. If thats want you want stay elsewhere.
I'd like to say its awful, the staff are rude and ignorent and the food poisonous; that way I can stay here again without the hoards booking the place up.
But I can't, the owners are helpful to the point of it makes me a little embarresed, I can NOT for the life of me remember when, as I struggled through the main door dragging laptops, bag, etc that the owner opened the door for me; I damn near fell through the door in shock. Most hotels the receptionist would sneer at my feeble efforts to gain entry; ignoring the fact I've already been working 16 bloody hrs.
The room is fine, the food lovely, and I love the total peace and quiet; oh yes and the house wine is actually very nice.
I will stay here again, I will recommend my friends stay here; but the rest of you can get ripped and stay at the local travel lodge/premier inn horror eating premade dross food at some awful fateater/brewers fart generic chain.
Take your pick, local style with excellent service and food; or be a sheep. My recommendation is make the effort, and chance it

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZX6RRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Very nice, Jim was so friendly and accommodating - spacious, clean comfortable room, handy for town and extremely tasty cooked scottish breakfast - very good! Lovely old house too!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
1.6 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
1.7 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 126 Grieve Street, Dunfermline KY12 8DW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davaar Hotel Dunfermline
Davaar House Hotel And Restaurant Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing