We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our visit.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Malcolm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King Malcolm Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We had a nice room with shower and bath, the evening meal in the restaurant was good and the waitress friendly.
A computer was available near reception to use for checking emails etc.
All in all a good base for touring and visiting edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    48
    31
    14
    14
See reviews for
19
33
4
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

This must be the friendliest hotel we've stayed at - and we are world travellers! Right through from the reception staff to the restaurant staff to the cleaners -all made us feel that we were valued guests. Alex at reception insisted on taking our (small) case to our room when we arrived, then as well as showing us the shortest way to the Forth road bridge for our return, also went online to check on the traffic conditions!
Heather, also reception, came outside to show us where the nearest bus stop was to get to town, assured us that if we happened to be late for breakast 'we can always rustle something up'. The restaurant meals were excellent, again serned with a smile.
And by the way, Dunfermline is really worth a visit!
Ray & Moya Ellis

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

good hotel in quiet location. excellent food, tripple room very cramped, but ok for two nights. bar very dated could do with a revamp, but overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rixy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philpstoun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms, good locations, free wi-fi.
Cons: Decor very out dated, peeling wall paper, cracking plaster, old beds. Really needs a good paint job, and some wee tweaks. Beakfast was OK, but nothing to rave about. Asked for over easy eggs, and got eggs cooked in a some sort of mold that had been greased with I don't know what, which gave them a bad taste and very rubbery. I noticed some other guests left their eggs too.

Would I say again. Yes, just for a night sleep would go for breakfast else where.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 103. Two old warnout single beds put together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quigley's Point, Ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Excellent from start to finish. On arrival Mark on reception greeted us in a very friendly manner explained everything we needed to know and nothing seemed to be a problem for him.even collecting our morning papers on his way to work.Heather the manager and her staff all very accomodating and friendly we were in an executive room and had sky tv. Ate both nights at the hotel and food was excellent,we would visit again in a heartbeat
Thank you
Frank and Annie

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Very friendly and welcoming and definitely better than when I last stayed here several years ago. Will definitely consider for next business visit. Free Wi-Fi was good and breakfast was okay as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SBQE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Very helpful & friendly staff. Dinner & breakfast was included in our package, & both were excellent! Breakfast was hot & cooked to order, as much or a little as you liked. Room was adequate with a controlable radiator. Towel rail in bath room did not work though. Near to town & convient for buses which are cheap & frequient. Bus for Edinburgh stops outside. Would recomend would certainly visit again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vronn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
0.2 mi away
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.0 mi away
Keavil House Hotel Dunfermline
1.2 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Malcolm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Malcolm Hotel

Property: King Malcolm Hotel
Address: Queensferry Rd, Dunfermline KY11 8DS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — King Malcolm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel located 5 miles from Forth Road Bridge in residential area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your King Malcolm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Malcolm Hotel Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing