We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“special time”

Garvock House Hotel Dining
Ranked #18 of 185 Restaurants in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The cuisine at Garvock House has won many admirers over the years and creates the perfect ambience for a leisurely lunch or intimate dinner for two. One of the finest dining establishments in West Fife with a reputation of good food and quality service in elegant, yet relaxed surroundings. Come and see for yourself, probably the best kept secret in West Fife. The dining rooms are overseen at all times by a highly dedicated and experienced team of staff. Our chefs are an enthusiastic and professional team ensuring that dining at Garvock House is an opportunity to enjoy the wonderful fresh local ingredients for which Scotland is so well known. All are cooked with great flair and imagination with local flavours shining through.
dunfermline
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“special time”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

second time at this restaurant and was not dissapointed.food excellent with the choice different from other venues.will be going again the next time a special occasion arrives

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladyirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    30
    11
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Anniversary Meal”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My wife and I returned to Garvock House Hotel for a meal to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary and weren't disappointed. The staff always seem to be so well trained. They make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The quality of the food was excellent and the surroundings give the hotel a real country house vibe - you definitely wouldn't think you are in the middle of Dunfermline.
For me Garvock House really is a class above anywhere else in the Dunfermline area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointingly slow service”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Having dined here previously we booked a table to celebrate 3 birthdays. We arrived 10 minutes early for our 7.30 table and were shown into the lounge where we were given a drink and time to look at the menus. Some 50 minutes later we eventually attracted the attention of a waiter to tell him we were ready to order. Following our starters our mains arrived minus the accompanying sides for the gentlemens' meal. On querying this it was found that the chef had forgotten about them. They eventually arrived when they had eaten about 2 thirds of their steaks. They had also specifically asked if they came with the accompanying mushrooms, tomatoes etc which were with another cut of steak on the menu and been assured they did . They did not. We did speak to the waiter about the delays but, to be honest, he didn't give us the impression he cared very much. All he could say was that they liked to create a relaxed atmosphere. 50 minutes to take the original order is certainly relaxed! To be fair the food that we had was good but the service and the attitude to the staff leave a lot to be desired and the experience spoiled what was supposed to be a pleasant evening out for our birthdays.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edinburghertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Competence all round”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Despite the somewhat dated surroundings, a good meal was enjoyed by the party. Service was most courteous and efficient and the cuisine more than acceptable. Not a fine dining location, but above average, competence was exhibited throughout. The meal represented fine value for money

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vincitveritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT food and servce”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

such a lovely restaurant. food is always amazing and have been to a few weddings and the standards are great for food there too! real treat for eating out as it is a bit pricey for nipping in and out, however worth the price.

Helpful?
Thank wee_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garvock House Hotel Dining also viewed

 

Been to Garvock House Hotel Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing