We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food thoroughly enjoyed by all.”

Garvock House Hotel Dining
Ranked #17 of 186 Restaurants in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The cuisine at Garvock House has won many admirers over the years and creates the perfect ambience for a leisurely lunch or intimate dinner for two. One of the finest dining establishments in West Fife with a reputation of good food and quality service in elegant, yet relaxed surroundings. Come and see for yourself, probably the best kept secret in West Fife. The dining rooms are overseen at all times by a highly dedicated and experienced team of staff. Our chefs are an enthusiastic and professional team ensuring that dining at Garvock House is an opportunity to enjoy the wonderful fresh local ingredients for which Scotland is so well known. All are cooked with great flair and imagination with local flavours shining through.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb food thoroughly enjoyed by all.”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Celebrated a family birthday today and was impressed by the lovely location, very nice, attentive staff and wonderful food. First visit, would highly recommend and definitely look forward to returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel Dining, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Laura - so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    32
    11
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Lunch from set menu. Excellent value at less than 20 pounds. Warm welcome and shown into bar and offered drink whilst browsing menu. Shown to table in intimate well appointed dining room with lovely views over leafy gardens. Food was of extremely high quality and service impeccable.
Looking for another excuse to visit soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fifelass3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline R, Public Relations Manager at Garvock House Hotel Dining, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review and glad that you enjoyed your lunch. Hope you find an excuse to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never disappoints.”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We came here for lunch on a Friday afternoon and the restaurant was quite quiet. Meal was faultless. My salmon main and my husband's haddock were perfectly cooked and presented. My strawberry shortcake with strawberry sorbet really stole the show though and left me with a huge smile.
From the relaxing surroundings, the friendly staff and the little bowl of snacks with your drink while you browse the menu, the attention to detail is why the Garvock is really ahead of the game.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank treezydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alva, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Quite simply pub food”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The venue tries to push itself as an up market venue, but its food is merely good pub food. Its price implies better. It is an appealling location and looks good, unfortunately, that's as far as it goes.
My wife is vegetarian through choice and lactic intolerant. We were going to a family birthday celebration and she phoned the previous day to ensure that she could be catered for. On arrival, I broached the subject with what seemed to be the head waiter and was assured that her dietary requirements were not a problem. The previous day's message had NOT been passed on. Whe the menus were handed out, there was nothing there which my wife could eat.
I again brought it up with the head waiter. "No problem!" I was again informed and yet, when they came round to take the order, the issue had again to be re-emphasised and it was only then that the kitchen was consulted.
In the end, the food delivered to her was excellent and very well presented and MUCH more imaginative that that which was presented to we carnivores. Apart from the dessert when she was presented with a raspberry pavlova - with cream! Twice! Before receiving a dairy-free alternative on the third attempt.
As to the rest of us, the bruschetta was good, steak pie and chicken dishes were very ordinary, the sea bream was good, but the desserts were disappointing.
The waitress referred to as "the sommellier" was not. She did not know what wines were on the list other than that they were numbered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnLamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hosted Private Event”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Excellent service from friendly staff & a good selection of food served at this private lunchtime event. Set in a beautiful location the only difficulty was finding the entrance - you drive through housing developments to find it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank OldBlueBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garvock House Hotel Dining also viewed

 
Dunfermline, Fife
 

Been to Garvock House Hotel Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing