We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticket To Ride...”

Scottish Vintage Bus Museum
Ranked #7 of 59 things to do in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

First visit, don’t think it’ll be our last.
Family enjoyed the visit, volunteers were very engaging and enthusiastic. This is a big site, much bigger than I expected. Traveled around from hanger to hanger (shed to shed) in an old Scottish built Hong Kong double decker bus. Visit brought back memories of my old school busses and even Tattie/Berry Busses of my youth.
We were all taken by the painstaking restoration work undertaken by the owners and the immaculate hand painted finish applied to them. Well set out and organised.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank douglase333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"open days"
in 8 reviews
"filled rolls"
in 5 reviews
"double decker"
in 5 reviews
"bus driver"
in 4 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 6 reviews
"on display"
in 8 reviews
"hot and cold drinks"
in 3 reviews
"various stages"
in 3 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 11 reviews
"guided tour"
in 5 reviews
"horse drawn tram"
in 2 reviews
"down memory lane"
in 2 reviews
"brought back memories"
in 2 reviews
"big site"
in 2 reviews
"restoration work"
in 2 reviews
"admission fee"
in 2 reviews
"would highly recommend a visit"
in 3 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2018

Had a friend visiting who love buses, especially Route Masters. As we live approx half an hour away we took him for the day. The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, the gift shop is a joke and way too expensive for the tack it sells.

That said, café was reasonable but limited, bus trip around the site was interesting and each stop had a small tour with it to give you as much info on the group and exhibits as possible.

I can't walk much right now and I was offered a manual or electric wheelchair if needed. so well setup for most disabilities.

The staff allowed our friend to have a really good look over a closed exhibit (a tram) and explained why each side had a different coat of arms.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Steamy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

visited today with my wife and parents as the old man had not been before very cheap entry fee £5 for adults and £3 for concessions they also have a couple of wheel chairs and one mobility scooter which are free to use for the infirm and people with walking difficulties the museum is spread over 45 acres with varies large hangers the bus tour takes you round all the hangers and the volunteer guides are very knowledgeable and friendly and helpful there are two toilet blocks one at either end of the site and a very cheap and cheerful cafe where you can get hot and cold drinks cold filled rolls and crisps biscuits and snacks
the hole site is run by volunteers and the do a fantastic job nothing is to much trouble and i would highly recommend a visit unfortunately its only open on sundays from april to september 12pm until 4.30 i think but check there website and a have a great day i know we all did

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank petercarol2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Great day out with our friends and our two 17 month old boys. They loved the bus tour and the train rides. The play bus was great. The staff were so welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable they even let the wee ones sit in the drivers seat. Would highly recommend a visit. We’ll definitely be back.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

I can definitely recommend the bus museum £5 entry fee is week worth the money you get a guided tour in a bus with the volunteers knowledge is vast and if they don’t know something they will find out for you. I honestly don’t know what the bad reviews are all about on here.

The cafe very very resonable prices 0.50p for a tea and 1.80 for a freshly made roll what more can you ask for at places like this.

The place is ran by volunteers who are superb and friendly.

Looking forward to a return visit as they have lots of plans to extend the collection and add on to the railway section of the park.

Very easy to get to come off M90 at junction 4 and it’s sign posted from there only one downfall Is it’s only open on sundays from Easter Sunday to October.

Museum shop Also very reasonable prices

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank matthewtudhope811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward T, Public Relations Manager at Scottish Vintage Bus Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you at future visits. The reason we do not open during the winter months is due to the fact our sheds do not have heating (way too expensive to install). We could not ask our volunteers to work in low temperatures. In addition old buses are very reluctant to start in cold weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scottish Vintage Bus Museum also viewed

 

Been to Scottish Vintage Bus Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing