We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely High Tea”

Forrester Park Golf and Resort
Ranked #13 of 186 Restaurants in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely High Tea”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Enjoyed a lovely High Tea at Forrester Park. Excellent food, service and surroundings. Best in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheena B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    16
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The "Best Wedding Ever."”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The food was excellent, the staff were great, Robert is a star and the whole wedding went like a dream! So many people have commented this was "The Best". I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JockWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent at Forresters!!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We have just recently been married at Forrester and could not fault the service, food, hospitality of the place. Leading up to the wedding and past weddings we have attended we would say the same. Each time the food was fresh and delicious enjoyed by all our party (the high teas especially!!).
Any questions/requests we had in regards to the wedding Robert and his staff were nothing short of first class. They were experienced and organised and were one step ahead every time. We are so grateful for their role in our day.
We were the first to stay in the new hotel rooms and they were beautiful and the breakfast in the morning just topped off the whole experience (the best we've had to be honest.... And we've had a lot!!).
We will be regulars for high teas and certainly be staying again for the amazing rooms and breakfast. Thank you again to Robert and his staff, could not praise you all enough!
Love the newlyweds, Mr & Mrs Beveridge. x

Helpful?
7 Thank Thebeveridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“60th Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I went to Forrestor Park for my Grandparents 60th wedding anniversary yesterday. My dad and my uncle had paid £50 deposit to book for 10 people. When we arrived we ordered drinks and looked at the menu. It was £25 for two courses or £30 for three. When the young boy came to take our order he offered us the choice of Rump Steak which was "the roast of the day". This was not on the menu, so we asked if we could have it, to which he replied sorry thats a different menu from earlier today.
We got taken to our table and got bread and butter before our starters arrived. The portions were tiny, I ordered smoked salmon, there was more bread on the plate than anything else, with a tiny portion of salmon which was very dissapointing as I didnt want anymore bread.
For the main courses, I ordered venison, which the waiter had told us came out like a steak, it did not, it was cut into strips. It was nice enough, but cold and came on potatoes, which were tastless. Again, portions were small. My grandmother and aunty both had Filo Pastry which was "stuffed with mushroom", they finished their meals without finding any mushrooms at all. When we complained, they got a drink each free of charge, the chef had prepared the wrong meals - unnaceptable. The roast potatoes had been either left overs from the previous day or that afternoon. They were unpleasant.
The room was freezing cold, I asked for the heating to be switched on, they put ona fan heater, which made no difference in such a large room.
The waiters were obliging when we asked them to bring the cake out with the coffees. However when my dad and uncle went to pay the bill the restaurant didnt have a note of the £50 deposit.
Overall, none of us will be returning, the food was cold, the room was cold, the waiters didn't seem to know what was going on. It wasn't enjoyable and I would not recommend coming here for any special event.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert F, Owner at Forrester Park Golf and Resort, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
I'm sorry your experience at Forrester Park was not so great.
Your server did begin to tell you that the roast of the day was actually rib eye of beef but then corrected himself and explained that this dish was served only with our High Tea menu 3-6pm. Your party had booked the fine dining menu for 6.30pm and requested to be sat in our Acanthus function room.

We serve homemade tomato and oregano bread rolls as guests wait for their starters, something we are often complimented on. The salmon is actually served with a cheese and herb scone, not bread, which compliments the dish. The portion sizes are designed as part of a three course meal, which you will find is in keeping with any fine dining establishment. All of your party chose not to have a dessert from the menu and instead requested we serve the cake you had brought with you, which we accommodated. This is not something most places would allow.

When we cleared the main dishes, your guests commented on how lovely the vegetarian dish was, although pointing out that it was missing mushrooms. This was simply an honest mistake made by the chef which we acknowledged. Apologies were made and complimentary drinks were served.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Mothering Sunday”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Had a fabulous meal for Mother's Day. Food was AMAZING! The service by all staff was first class. Will definitely recommend to family and friends. Thanks to Robert and staff for such a lovely time.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forrester Park Golf and Resort also viewed

 
Limekilns, Dunfermline
 
Dunfermline, Fife
Dunfermline, Fife
 

Been to Forrester Park Golf and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing