We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting visit”

Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum
Ranked #3 of 51 things to do in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come along and discover the original birthplace cottage of Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919). Find out how Andrew, born a weaver's son in Dunfermline, emigrated to America and became the richest man in the world, and one of the most generous philanthropists of all time. The Memorial Hall adjoining the cottage tells the story of Andrew Carnegie's lasting legacy which includes internationally renowned landmarks such as the Carnegie Hall in New York, the Peace Palace in The Hague, over 2,800 public libraries around the globe, Mount Wilson Observatory in California, and, of course, the Diplodocus carnegii dinosaur! Open March-November Free admission, free parking, coach drop-off, disabled facilities, baby changing.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
312 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very well set up, it is a tiny cottage where Andrew Carnegie was raised. Humble beginnings for a wealthy man that to this day supports libraries all over the world.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sroeauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    55
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely museum guide”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I definitely recommend a trip to this museum, as the museum guides has so many stories to tell (even secret ones). I visited first time in June, with my friend who currently lives in Dunfermline. This definitely made our trip!

Thank you to Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheaBron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A must see for local Scottish History”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Attended a BBC debate her, but first took a short tour of the museum - not only a perfect example of Scottish entrepreneurial spirit, but very enlightening over the time period Andrew grew up in. The head curator (if that;'s his title) was extremely welcoming and friendly, informing me about several aspects of the venue that I would never had known otherwise!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BlueKnightGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely little museum.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Well worth a visit if you're in the Dunfermline area, it's free and tells you all you need to know about Andrew Carnegie, I certainly came out knowing a lot more. The lady on the desk was very pleasant and knew her stuff. All in all an excellent way to spend a couple of hours.

Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Fascinating Discovery.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Trying to get to Dunfermline Castle we took a wrong turn and ended up in a carpark by this little museum. We only had a short time to spend but it was really great to discover this gem about the start in life of this amazing philanthropist. The lady in charge was so welcoming and informative; she even gave us a personal guide to how to use the drink dispensing machine, which was the best we have come across. Delicious hot chocolate for £1! We were sorry we didn't have more time to spend there but we learnt a lot about Andrew Carnegie. An amazing man, self-taught, with no expensive university education. Proof that paper qualifications should be put into a different perspective. We're so glad we found this museum.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lottie1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum also viewed

 

Been to Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing