We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, would definately stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, would definately stay here again”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The hotel was lovely, I was greeted at reception & nothing was too much trouble.
Food was nice & well cooked.
I booked only a single room, but it was comfortable, clean & with a large bathroom.
I would definitely recommend & will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Pitbauchlie House Hotel so much. It was very kind of you to take the time to write, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    142
    64
    19
    12
See reviews for
75
126
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jollyolly
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

After looking at some of the reviews of this hotel, I was slightly reluctant to stay here, however, my experience leads me to believe that some of these reviews are referencing a different hotel.
Upon check in I was greeted by an extremely friendly receptionist, who could not be more helpfull. While the bar and restaurant staff were pleasant and efficient.
I could not fault the cleanliness of my bedroom.
Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollyolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Although not the first choice hotel the company booked myself and several colleagues into the Pitbauchlie first impressions were great and the hotel maintained the great service throughout my stay the rooms were clean, tidy and tastefully decorated and as I tend to chuck clothes into a case I was impressed that there was an iron and ironing board already in the room, tea and coffee making, free wifi! a lot of hotels should take note FREE wifi and not forgetting a great shower only down side the hot water is just that HOT take care.
The bars were good with nice atmosphere and the gardens and grounds were kept beautifully
Overall a really nice hotel to stay either working or on holiday

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Good experience, amazing food and reasonably priced. Had a beautiful Steak. The only thing I would say is I would prefer a Steak on a plate rather than a board. Drinks were fairly priced too as was the food it self. The management team also gave a nice welcoming atmosphere. The breakfasts were also well cooked, very tasty and had a fabulous selection on the buffet table.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeWantBetterMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballater
Level Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Upgraded to a deluxe room,it was well worth it as it was very large with huge bed and large flat screen T.V. Fast and friendly check-in.Had a problem with T.V. when we came back in at 23.00hrs.Called reception and it was sorted with-in minutes,great service.Breakfast was to order and was good.This Hotel is in a quiet setting with large garden front and back but just minutes from the center of town.

Room Tip: First floor rooms in the extension as there is no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Cheaper than the Premier Inn in Dumferline, £44 for Bed and breakfast if you go for the smallest room, A single bed which in itself was comfortable. Adequate space for a single person. Only thing that let the room rown was the lack of pressure in the ensuite shower. More of a dribble than a power shower. But enough water to wash with if you're the size of a bird.

Greeted with a friendly smile at reception the staff ar very knowledgeable about the local area and are more than happy to help you with and questions you may have.

The bar was relatively lively with what looked to be several contractors, but there was a mix of families as well. Breakfast the next morning was help yourself to a continental or wait and order off the menu for a full cooked. The service was exceptionally quick and the food hot. Coffee, relatively strong and pleasant, none of the wishy washy stuff you get in other establishments.

Well worth a visit and centrally located between Rosyth and Dumfermline. Plenty of parking space as well.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet, with the exception at times of hearing people pass by towards the end of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Pitbauchlie House Hotel.
We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience, and the water pressure in the ‘old’ hotel has been flagged and is currently under investigation for improvement.
The hotel has a no smoking policy throughout. As a deterrent we have a substantial monetary penalty for any non-compliance, it is unfortunate that on this occasion the policy has been ignored. For this we apologise and hope your stay was not sullied too much.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere in Sam’s bar and that your breakfast was pleasant.
Once more thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pitbauchlie House Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We ate in the conservatory at the rear of the building with views over the garden area which goes under the name Harvey's Bistro. The menu has a good selection to choose from but the food is pretty standard. Pâté was light and tasty although I suspect that it could have been pre-bought rather than made on premises (this said it's not claimed to be home-made). The burger and chips were good. Chips were very fresh tasting and the bun was nice and soft. The burger itself though was disappointing. Tasted as though it was a frozen burger and had more filler than meat.
Staff kept us refreshed with drinks and were pleasant and very well turned out.
Wouldn't be hurrying back as there's better places to be eating in the local area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelgfindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Harvey’s Bistro. We offer a la carte dining in Restaurant 47 and less informal dining in the bistro. Please be assured that our Chef does make his own Pâté Maison (secret recipe, much sought after by many of our customers) and that our burgers, although not made on the premises, are 100% beef. I am pleased that the staff treated you well, and hope to see you back sooner rather than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
1.2 mi away
The Guildhall & Linen Exchange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
Premier Inn Dunfermline Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.7 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitbauchlie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitbauchlie House Hotel

Property: Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Address: 47 Aberdour Road, Dunfermline KY11 4PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pitbauchlie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pitbauchlie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitbauchlie Hotel Dunfermline
Pitbauchlie House Hotel Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing