We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edinburgh Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Lovely hotel, would definitely stay again. Staff helpful and friendly. Easy trip by rail into Edinburgh from Inverkeithing 10 minutes away by car. Food very good, breakfast plentiful, lovely views from both rooms and restaurant areas.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Lyn0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Really enjoyed my 3 day stay at the Pitbauchlie House with my mad German Shepherd dog. The staff all made a fuss of her - even the manager when she tried to leap over the reception desk! My room was very nicely furnished & really clean with a nice view over the garden. Breakfast was good with lots of choice. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We had a weekend here and were very pleasantly surprised, we thought it was more than a three star. The staff were very pleasant and went out of their way, the room was clean and spacious, the bathroom was clean, and the bar prices were reasonable. We didnt use any of the restaurant facilities so can't comment on them. The shower wasn't particularly powerful but did the job. Definite value for money and within a short drive to lots of facilities. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicklross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Charming little hotel in Dunfermline. Stayed a few days in the nearby King Malcolm, but had to move as that was very poor.

The staff at Pitbauchlie are friendly and will remember you. As fairly regular guests over a couple of months, they remembered us from our second visit onwards, and even moved our bags we left previously to our rooms before we even arrived.

There are two restaurants at the site, a "bistro" which is fine for a quick bite, and a more "formal" dining. The latter is much slower, so don't go if in a rush, but the food is very good. Breakfast is top notch, with the full works available.

Definitely enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are slightly more expensive but larger and more comfortable. Single/twin bed rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lestmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had five nights here last week, 22/07/13 - 27/07/13. The room was very clean, quite big & comfortable. Access to WiFi was first rate & free, the safe was useful & we enjoyed having a bath with shower over it, small bathroom but perfectly good. There isn't a lift but the stairs are easy, only up one floor.
The staff were very friendly, and the Bistro very nice for an evening meal. Sitting in the garden which is beautiful was very peaceful.
Really great to get the train into Edinburgh, parking at Dunfermline station is free. & 5 minutes up the road by car.
The atmosphere here is lovely, very relaxed, not stuffy but very pleasant. We would recommend this hotel to friends & hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simba2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Hotel only really seem concerned with the coach tours of foreign tourists. Room was appalling, no natural light could come into the room due to the very high hedge outside. There was a strange smell in the room probably originating from the bathroom. Room furnishings were basic and very tired with handles dropping of drawers and cupboards. Food was reasonable but spoilt by some of the additions. Service was poor in the dining room and got worse when the coach party arrived. One to avoid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StokeOnTrentChris_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies that your stay was “a let down”. We have already acted upon your comments and have asked a tree surgeon to cut back some of the trees to let more light into the bedrooms. We have asked maintenance to check out bedrooms for faults and discussed with waiting staff regarding service improvements. Thank you, for passing on your review, hopefully we have made the necessary changes to remedy the service we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband was working in the area so I joined him for two weeks. The room was worn & tired looking & quite dark. It had a separate room for the wardrobe & suitcase stand, which led into the bathroom & that was actually very useful. The net & over curtains were missing hooks & not hanging properly so I sorted that out myself. Bathroom worn & tired & I have to say not very clean; shower/soap gel dispensers never been cleaned; mould around the bath; dirty toilet brush. On the upside, the breakfast room was light & airy with crisp white table cloths. Good breakfast choices & good service. My husband said the evening menu in the Bistro had not changed in all the time he had been there, so he had had to go out to eat! An OK place to stay for 1 or 2 nights but not for longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirgitC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing that we did not meet your expectations, or in fact our usual high standards. Your comments have been passed on to our housekeeping and maintenance departments and will be acted on with haste. We offer two dining experiences within the hotel, with varied menus which change seasonally. The bistro menu boasts 20 main courses and the a la carte menu a further 7 choices offering an above average selection for our guests. We are always looking for ways to improve, thank you again for your time, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfermline
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
2.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Best Western Balgeddie House Hotel
0.2 mi away
King Malcolm Hotel
King Malcolm Hotel
#11 of 12 in Dunfermline
157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitbauchlie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitbauchlie House Hotel

Address: 47 Aberdour Road, Dunfermline KY11 4PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range: £52 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pitbauchlie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Pitbauchlie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitbauchlie Hotel Dunfermline
Pitbauchlie House Hotel Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing