We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a good value for money (although I wouldn't recommend eating breakfast there, it is very expensive and can get it much cheaper at other places in the town). The room was clean and location is close to Edinburgh if you have a car. We had a family room and we would stay at this hotel again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Once again I visit , once again I get the same great service .
Reception staff are wonderful,I fail to see how folk can moan.
Helpful, pleasant, smiling , who could ask for more.
It's not a 5 ,or 4 star hotel, but for me, punches above it's weight as a 3
Rooms & beds very comfortable, bar prices reasonable , food great.
I got a cheap deal without breakfast, not a problem for me.
My only small niggle is , if it's not part of the deal it's £11.00, not a fortune, but for me slightly expensive for a full breakfast.
I would not however condemn a hotel on a minor problem.
I always stay here now when ever in Dunfermline on business, I cannot fault it for it's rating , price or staff, well done again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotland657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I spent one night in this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
The receptionist was extremely welcoming and friendly, and all other staff were likewise. There were certainly plenty staff on duty, and they looked after our needs very well and promptly.
Our ground floor room was very clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed a very nice meal in the Bistro. We were delighted to find the food was served on hot plates!
Lovely gardens around the hotel with seats to enjoy the vista.
Although we checked out by midday, it was no problem for us to use the lounge or foyer area for several hours awaiting a transfer to a cruise ship, and were offered coffee etc
Will certainly use again if and when in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLAD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Pros:
- excellent value for money
- free wifi access fast and efficient
- fairly quiet location
- comfortable very large bed
- clean
- location great for a stop over on the way out of EDI to the north
- 24 hr check in very helpful as we arrived very late

Cons:
- building, carpet and furniture a bit dated so floors and walls are a bit thin
- not really close to much without a car

We didn't eat at the hotel at all so can't comment on that.

Would recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fried_burger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Friendly welcoming staff. Room very clean and bed was comfortable. Food in bistro was lovely with a very nice wine list. Nice to sit in the conservatory and also enjoy a drink in the bar which had access to the garden. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ideal location for visiting Edinburgh
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my son while visitng Knockhill, great lcoation to get to / from the track. Not much around the hotel though in walking distance. Staff friendly, and food / bar great as are the rooms, great value for money. Would certainly use again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights this week and was pleasantly surprised following the less than warm greeting we received! The room - including the bathroom - was clean. It wasn't one of the "modern" ones as it still had the built-in bedroom furniture over and next to the bed, but it had everything I needed - including an iron and ironing board. The bathroom was spacious and the towels were lovely big bath sheets. Even though the bed was quite low, once I got in, I had a great night's sleep both nights. Spent a pleasant evening in one of the bars which led out onto the lovely garden - I can see why this hotel makes a great wedding venue! Apart from our initial welcome, the staff were warm and friendly. We ate in the bistro where the service was good and we thoroughly enjoyed our food. Would stay here again if in the area and would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BinziB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
1.7 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
King Malcolm Hotel
King Malcolm Hotel
#11 of 12 in Dunfermline
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garvock House Hotel
Garvock House Hotel
#3 of 12 in Dunfermline
287 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitbauchlie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitbauchlie House Hotel

Address: 47 Aberdour Road, Dunfermline KY11 4PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range: £54 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pitbauchlie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Pitbauchlie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitbauchlie Hotel Dunfermline
Pitbauchlie House Hotel Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing