We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pitbauchlie House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Had an amazing weekend, my wonderful husband took me away for a break as I was working too hard. We stayed in a beautiful hotel, the Pitbauchlie House Hotel in Dunfermline and had a wonderful time. Lovely food, very comfortable and staff were all so friendly. Becky the receptionist was exceptionally helpful and Sam, the owner/manager was a breath of fresh air with his stories. We will definitely be returning and would recommend for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanMcDonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Booked my brothers wake here for after his funeral, and also recommended friends from down south to stay at hotel! staff in attendance were very nice but duty manager and board member could learn communication skills as their lack of thought and communication led to a lot of upset on the day and the following few days, charged us extra for food although we did not ask for any or were consulted about this, several phone calls later led me to speak to..sorry be spoken to by a chairman/board member who was incredibly arrogant and rude and could only utter the words company policy like it was his mantra, according to him the customer is not always right even when it comes to simple communication skills!! needless to say we wont be back and will not be recommending this to anyone again as a venue!!!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Unhappy939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent experience at Pitbauchlie House Hotel.

As previously discussed it is our policy to cater for extra guests that attend a funeral tea. We are often thanked for how expediently we provide this service.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the upset you feel has been caused to your family.

I am sorry that we were unable to resolve the situation to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here 14th Feb 2014 checked into room to find no towels, disgusting marks in toilet pan and 1/2 a toilet roll. Phoned reception to be told by receptionist that as they had let us check in early which was untrue as we had lunch first then checked in at 2pm, that the room hadn't been serviced properly! What?. The toilet did get cleaned when we went for evening meal but not serviced as promised! Onto the good points our meal and wait staff were 100 percent and thank you to them for a lovely meal! Won't stay again though!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Pitbauchlie House Hotel.
Please accept our apologies that your restroom had not been completely serviced on the day of your visit. This should not have occurred and I have stressed the importance of this to the head housekeeper. I am so glad that we were able to complete the task later in the day.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the Valentine Dinner and that you felt the meal and service was “100 percent” on the day. We have passed on your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had drinks here with several friends last Friday. Staff were friendly and efficient. Good choice of drinks and prices reasonable. Hotel very comfortable and just the right level of posh. The hotel is also in a good location in Dunfermline. Car park very dark though.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JacqFromDunfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you found both the hotel to your liking.
I believe that there had been a bulb blown in one of our car park lights, this had now been rectified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My family and I spent one night in the hotel in May before our departure from Scotland, returning to South Africa. It was ideally located for our purposes being close to a railway connection for sightseeing in Edinburgh and within easy reach of the Edinburgh Airport where we had to be the following morning. It was also an easy drive from central Dunfermline where we found a nice restaurant. The hotel staff were professional but somewhat unfriendly and mechanical. The room was a family room which was ideal for our purposes. All-in-all, the hotel was unexceptional but we were happy and because of the hotel's convenience we would stay there again if it was a quick stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jockmcconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that we may welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Had an Xmas meal here this year. Xmas meals can be dire experiences, as all restaurants want to do is max the bill and minimise the effort. This offering was somewhere inbetween - neither excellent, nor bad.

The food was ok, though delivery was poor, with half the table well into their meal before the other half appeared. Can't comment on the rooms, as didn't stay, but take care of the road on the way into the hotel off Aberdour road. I suspect that some of the IED laden roads in Afghanistan have fewer craters!

Dunfermline is awash with hotels and restaurants. A lot are middle of the road and average like this, if you are looking to up the ante, then try and garvock house, or the Keavil in nearby crossford - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed here over Christmas, and had a really relaxing time. The room has blackout curtains, and I slept so soundly that I woke up at half nine on one morning. Breakfast was lovely, with proper butter on the table! I was there alone, but was made to feel at home, without feeling awkward. I had lunch there with my family on Boxing Day, and really enjoyed it. I felt that it was really good value for money, especially for over the festive period. The nicest thing about the hotel is the staff, who are all friendly and cheery. Really enjoyed my stay, and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allison659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager47, Manager at Pitbauchlie House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for your enthusiastic review, we are all delighted that the hotel met your expectations and hope that we can host another stay next Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunfermline hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dunfermline
1.7 mi away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
King Malcolm Hotel
King Malcolm Hotel
#11 of 12 in Dunfermline
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garvock House Hotel
Garvock House Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dunfermline
287 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Adamson Hotel
The Adamson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crossford
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitbauchlie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitbauchlie House Hotel

Address: 47 Aberdour Road, Dunfermline KY11 4PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Dunfermline
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Dunfermline
Price Range: £54 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pitbauchlie House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pitbauchlie House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitbauchlie Hotel Dunfermline
Pitbauchlie House Hotel Dunfermline, Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing